We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff a big let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staff a big let down.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Sunday afternoon and the restaurant was not busy but still waited fifty minutes for our order. Two meals came first followed some time later by the rest of our meals. The waiter could not leave quick enough, checking his watch as he left out final two meals and hurrying off never to be seen again. I approached the bar where there were four staff having a nice chat with each other and waited as they all ignored me. One female member of staff actually looked at me and turned away. After finally getting to speak to another waiter I managed to ask for more drinks for the table and voiced my anger at being treated so badly.
When we had finished out meal, which has to be said was of a very high standard and congratulations should be given to the chef, I once again had to approach the bar for my bill only to be completely ignored by the same female member of staff as earlier.
A serious let down. It seems that the majority of staff here forget that it is the customer who keeps them in jobs and this isn't the cheapest place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25053136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    106
    48
    41
    22
See reviews for
88
165
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here overnight, with a deal that included breakfast and a 3-course dinner. We stayed in a deluxe sea-view room, which had great views of the marina and the ocean. The room itself was spacious, the bed was comfy...could do with a bit of sprucing up in terms of a few marks on the walls and a bit of chipped paint here and there, but really no complaints in terms of size and comfort.

Our dinner that night was absolutely fantastic. I had a crab starter which was beautifully paired with pea puree and broad beans - and growing up with Chesapeake Bay crab, I can be quite picky! I got the scallops for my main and they were cooked to perfection, literally falling apart and would nearly melt in your mouth. Again, I'm quite finicky about scallops and I could find no fault with these!! For dessert, I had the pear & frangipan tarte tatin which is cooked to order. Another amazing dish that tasted great with the lavender & honey ice cream it was served with. We had a bottle of an Argentinian pinot grigio that was great as well...you wouldn't know it was one of the cheapest bottles on their wine list! In addition to delicious food and wine, the service was great. Every questioned answered, the wait staff was always attentive and making sure we had an enjoyable experience. Can't wait to get back to Bangor and the Salty Dog!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagle_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

i booked a table for 2 for myself and my cousin she is heading off to France for the summer, we wanted the evening to be special as we wont be seeing each other for a while. We were greeted by friendly staff and given a choice of table..... lovely views we were able to watch the sun set as we enjoyed the chilean merlot . Great choice of freshly cooked food ,we shared the different breads and speciality butters while we waited on our mains - delicious and just enough.Nothing was too much trouble the staff took the time to explain dishes and we were given plenty of time between courses to sit and chat and just enjoy the atmosphere. As we were leaving I noticed the bar end had a great buzz about it and this was a Tuesday evening. Can't wait to take my husband for a meal and maybe try out one of the cocktails on offer. Sharon C.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at this ideal boutique pub for three nights last week where we were made extremely welcome. It was one of the very few places that made our well behaved young Labrador cross extremely welcome as well. The food was excellent, the Guinness great, and the wines had plenty of variety. I recommend the Salty Dog to anyone visiting Bangor and needs to be near the marina. Should you be aboard in the marina you could not find a better eatery and watering holel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here over the may bank holiday and it was great, the views are also a bonus while sitting enjoying your food. Service was friendly also. Fish and chips were lovely and came served in a quirky style in a basket. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Food was an absolute let down, barely warm and bland and seriously OVER PRICED!

Almost London prices in Bangor, catch yourself on!!

Some people might like eating their meal of a lump of wood, you think they could spend a few quid on plates, or is the idea that they might have to put more on a plate!

Though I can't fault the staff, they try hard, pleasant and attentive.

I can't comment on the hotel, only the restaurant!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Fiancé and I were in Bangor for bank holiday weekend and stopped by for a drink.

Unfortunately there were no seats outside left so we chose to sit inside. The drink is reasonably priced considering its a hotel.
We ordered the bread sticks, olives and chicken wings. The hummus dip was sadly tasteless and the chicken wings were a bit on the greasy side but it "filled a wee hole" nonetheless.
We would go back again to try the main menu.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
516 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,662 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
8.5 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Property: The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Address: 10 - 12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing