We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recent business trip to Bangor and stayed here. Nice room. Old TV. Quiet area at end of Bangor seafront. Restaurant food was truly excellent and not surprised it was as full as it was. Very friendly staff and made me feel most welcome. Great location and ample street parking. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myleskehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    106
    48
    41
    23
See reviews for
91
168
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I went for lunch yesterday, our first time here, on a Living Social deal. The food was delicious and very well presented, the choice was extensive even on a special deal. We found the staff very friendly and knowledgable about the menu. We will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Used to go here quite a bit, but in recent times I think it has got to be quite pretentious, the food is ok, but you'll pay for it! And the service sometimes can be a big let down, on a few occasions they've said they need the table back really quickly as they're fully booked, but empty tables seem to stay empty for a long time!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevo79bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful dog friendly hotel and pub
Thought I was in heaven ,warm friendly atmosphere , my wee dog by my side, and wonderful food .

With or without your dog don't miss this wonderful pub with imaginative menu , great food , wonderful location and views.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armoy, ballymoney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had the joy of staying here for one night at beginning of November.Were greeted by friendly receptionist who showed us to our room with a seaview...What can we say but room was lovely,clean and well furnished.Food was lovely and the freshly cooked breakfast was to die for.Overall well impressed and will visit again.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of the midweek special. Dinner and b&b for £99. Great value. Our room was nice but at the back of the hotel. We could have paid a little extra for a sea view and I would the next time. Room clean and well furnished. Plumbing a little noisy when it came on in the morning. The menu for dinner was short but still interesting. My wife had lamb shank and I had cod. Really good food in a nice environment. Staff very efficient and attentive.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH WEST ENGLAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I had the joy to stay here for one night at the end of September. The selling points are the great location by the Marina, and the helpful staff. Overall, very impressed and would visit again in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AS1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
8.5 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Property: The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing