We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Recently stayed for 1 night, room was very cold and staff noticed this and said they would fix the problem. After coming back to the room 2hrs later no heat, we called reception who then had to lift carpets to have the heating on. When we came back in the evening to go to bed room was warm but the next morning we where so cold as no heating in the room, we did voice this to staff who just apologised and said they would be fixing it for the future?. Lovely decor down stairs breakfast really good, dinner not much choice and not enough friends went to fill up elsewhere and expensive cocktails. Could be improved .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimwilly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night in February.. Room was very comfy and breakfast lovely.. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we had a booking elsewhere.. Waitresses were really friendly, but barman, not as friendly or helpful as the guys at the Merchant.. But, all in all for the money pretty good

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rettendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Four if us had lunch in The Salty Dog bistro on a Wednesday afternoon in January. There was plenty of choice available on the menu and everything that we ate was tasty. Clean plates all round!
Nice venue too, right at the seafront
Great!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had an absolutely lovely overnight stay with dinner for a birthday treat and what a treat it was ! We were lucky to get a corner seaview room which had a super outlook over the harbour and the lough. Our dinners and breakfasts were delicious and every member of staff we met was both friendly and efficient, including Barbara on reception when we were settling our bill. Overall - I hope I get the same birthday treat next year !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheFyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We booked The Salty Dog through a Living Social deal (which was a great bargin) and had a great overnight stay.

On arrival we were greeted by Barbara who was very welcoming and went out of her way to accommodate us as we ran slightly late and also to be told we had an upgrade to a sea view room.

The room was cosy with added touches such as cookies in a jar, candle in bathroom with matches and a great view across the water.

Dinner was great especially the desert of Apple and berry crumble with a great twist.

Has a great cocktail list (must say cocktails great as we had a few) with very helpful bar staff who had a great knowledge of what was in each drink.

Breakfast was great with very helpful staff especially Mandy who was very accommodating and even convinced the chef that a smoothie and potato bread was a good combination yes I know an odd request from myself lol

Even checking out was great as we requested a last minute late check out Maeve was very friendly and gave us lots of great information for next time we stay as there will definitely will be a next time. We have found our new wee gem of a hotel to slip off to now and then. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay look forward to coming again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Went here today for breakfast after hearing good reports about great food but poor and very slow service. We had perfect service, not long to wait for our food which incidentally was excellent! Everything was first class so much so that i am going back on Monday. Think this may just become our new meeting place every Saturday. Certainly for breakfast it really is very good....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came here again for lunch and found it ok but quite pricey. We had been before and not noticed this.
2 course lunch with 2 soft drinks was £43 which felt expensive for what we had
The food was ok but not 5 star quality and there was nothing healthy on the menu which is what most people are after in early January anyway!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
6.9 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £97 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing