We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the noise”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 3 July 2011

When we booked this hotel we were advised there was a nightclub but that in our room on the second floor we would barely be aware of the music - we might hear the bass beat but it wouldn't disturb us......I don't think so!! We were practically singing along to each track. On mentioning it at check out we were casually informed that we were incorrectly advised. She might as well have just said "Tough luck"

However, aside from this it's a nice enough hotel. It does the best it can with a building that really needs a major overhaul but the rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped. The breakfast buffet could really do with a bit more imagination (some fresh fruit and not running out of yogurt would be a good start!) but the cooked option was pretty good. However don't look down when you are eating....easily the DIRTIEST carpet I have ever ever seen.....

Bangor is what it is.....a run of the mill seaside town. Sadly this hotel actively encourages hen partys (there were FIVE booked in on the Sat night of our weekend break) so there are lots of pretty drunk ladies out front smoking their heads off and cackling which isn't so appealing when you are there with your kids. But there are some nice places to eat (we went to Little Wings & also enjoyed fish and chips on the harbour wall whilst watching a seal swim around!!) I know the Marine Court needs to fill their rooms but it can't be all things to all people and keep everyone happy......

Room Tip: Floor 3 or 4 might be better to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Great hotel, reasonably priced.
Restaurant meals were supurb
Accross the road from the marina so a nice outlook and great spot for a small walk, close to good pubs (Jenny Watts for a great Guiness).

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Stayed for two nights last weekend in a party of women( ranging in age from 26 to 66) celebrating an aunt's 60th birthday. From check in to check out found the service impeccable- nothing was too much trouble, including printing out a boarding card for my return flight back to Manchester. Despite the fact that they had a large wedding and a 50th Wedding anniversary event running simulataneously, the food and service in the restaurant was second to none., for both breakfast and the table d'hote in the evening.(Go hungry though, portions are generous) Have stayed in more up market hotels across Europe and can't compare the level of care and attention, from the chambermaids through to the reception staff. Although the decor is a little tired in the communal areas it was clean and bright, as were the rooms.Nothing was too much trouble. Beds so comfy didn't hear the nightclub. Bar a bit noisy in the evening, but drinks in the comforttable foyer were a good replacement, allowing us to gawp athe the attire of the wedding guests toing and froing to smoke.

Room Tip: Book early to get room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadso68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I cant recommend this hotel any higher for weddings. Our was on 26 March 2011 and we were treated like royalty from the minute we walked threw the door. The staff are absolutely fantastic (martha is exceptional she was our wedding co-ordindator at the hotel), nothing was a problem to them and if you asked for something it was done straight away!! As for our meal well ALL of our guests complimented it on how their meat just fell apart and how hot it all was when they received it (we had 100 guests and i would say that would be hard to do but they managed it). They took all the stress out of arranging our reception as martha just seemed to read my mind and know exactly wat i wanted. The rooms are magnificent and very very clean. Anyone who is looking around for a reception i would say to you look no further as you couldnt get better than the Marine Court!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieAnne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My partner and I stayed for one night as part of a special offer the hotel was running in conjunction with a newspaper, and were delighted to be upgraded to a suite. The Carnalea Suite was really like a family room - one large double bed and two single beds. However it was impossible to see the television from the double bed. At least it was movable!
The bed was so comfortable and warm - possibly too warm as we move into the warmer weather, perhaps bedding of a lower tog rating would have been available had we asked. The view was over a number of rooftops at close proximity, on which pigeons congregate in large numbers. This discouraged me from wanting to open the window. However it was possible to see the sea beyond this.
Regarding cleanliness and maintenance, the Marine Court could do better. There was a small hole burnt in the net curtain and some wax apparent on the carpet. There was also a whitish stain on the information leaflet rack. The bathroom was clean, but is tired in appearance. The wall tiles appeared grubby with some browning round the edges.
The hotel is right at Bangor seafront, so is well placed to visit the numerous tourist attractions, restaurants and shops Bangor boasts, yet a safe distance away from the busy Main Street hiving with life from pubs and clubs on many nights of the week. The Marine Court does have its own nightclub however we did not experience any problems with this as we were on the top floor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I would highly recommend the Marine Court for weddings, and indeed any other function. The staff did their utmost to ensure our wedding day was perfect, and went out of their way to accommodate our guests. The rooms, food and service were fantastic and we will definitely go back. I would highly recommend this venue for weddings, functions or indeed just for a getaway.

Stayed: May 2010
Thank Sheggymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My husband and I have been coming to stay at the Marine Court Hotel now for 10 years, from when we where just a couple to actually being married. In fact its where we choose to have our wedding reception on 21st April 2007. As always the hotel itself has wonderful friendly staff who are always willing to please. The food is outstanding and you are spoilt for choice the the menu selection. The leisure facilities with the pool and gym are great, and bar Mocha is a wonderful place up a knees up and place to party the night away. The room are so luxurious and the best room in the house where my husband and I stayed for his 39th birthday even has remote controlled lights and yes even a TV with remote in the bathroom!!!!! The staff treat you so well, we got champagne, with truffle chocolates on arrival in our room and best yet was the lovely rose petals scattered on our bed, as I said no detail is left unturned. A truly amazing hotel from beginning to end, well done Marine Court Hotel as always. Will see you in April 2011 for our 4th Wedding anniversary, cant wait.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemgem2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
263 reviews
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,780 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing