We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Spent last night with friends in Bangor before retiring t my Hotel the Marine Court. Very comfortable and clean room at a decent price. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. I will be back as there isso much to do in the Bangor Area and the Marine Court makes an excellent base.

Room Tip: Book and view online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    161
    96
    38
    24
See reviews for
103
197
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was a last minute stay for me and my son, excellent stay from we walked in the door! I would deffo recommend that anyone stay here while in Bangor. The room was excellent and the bed was massive! We had an excellent nights sleep and woke up to a lovely cooked breakfast. All the staff were excellent and I will deffo stay here again, infact I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My experience just doesn't match the resounding tributes many others have paid to the Marine Court so perhaps I was just a bit unlucky.

Nothing wrong with the room other than the noise - externally and internally - I and other colleagues experienced during a recent two night stay. Ok,it was xmas party season but it was midweek and as I had several colleagues staying it should have been possible to locate us all in one part of the hotel further away from the known noise sources. As it was several didn't have a particularly restful night!

Perfectly comfortable and reasonably equipped room, and an adequate breakfast, but the evening meal was lacking in choice, and the hotel generally felt more than little tired.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

What brings our group back to meet in the Marine Court once a month? Answer - a full Irish breakfast, individually prepared and served piping hot. Not to mention the cereals, fruit juice, toast, tea or coffee!
Please don't change a winning formula as we want to come back for more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Had an excellent breakfast with friends from the Church last Saturday. The quality of the food is excellent and great value for money at £10. The meal includes juice, cereal, and a full Irish Fry plus as much toast as you can manage! Hope to be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEREK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I am part of a men's group who meet here once a month for Breakfast - we have tried others but this is the BEST. KEEP UP THE STANDARD! Change nothing!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The breakfast at the Marine Court in Bangor is one of the best in the land. Our Men's Fellowship have Saturday morning breakfast meetings 6 or 7 times a year. We have visited many hotels in North Down and have now settled on Marine Court as our Breakfast of Choice. There is a good selection of cereals, juices etc but when the cooked breakfast arrives it is a delight. Warm plates, best thick back bacon in the land along with excellent sausages, mushrooms and tomato. Add perfectly cooked egg, soda and potato bread. Somehow 12-16 people get it all at once, all hot with as much toast and coffee as you need.

Staff and service are superb and the atmosphere is friendly. Strongly recommended. I am happy to repeat, we have tried many of the local hotels and marine court wins easily.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,703 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.0 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Property: Marine Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing