We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great hotel for business , excellent food , gym staff etc

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you john d, for taking the time to post your business trip review. Its encouraging to learn that you enjoyed your short stay and availed of our leisure facilities and found our attendants to be helpful and responsive. Your comments in relation to the dining experience have been passed on to the kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Had a great time in this hotel. Must say that the food was wonderful and the room we stayed in was enormous. We were lucky to be at the front with a great view off the marina.
They had great live music and then a diso afterwards. The staff were delightful especially reception and bar. All in all a great stay can't wait to return

Room Tip: Rooms at the front great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you Trudy89, for taking the time to post your review. Its great to learn that you experienced most of the facilities here at the hotel. The vista from our seaview rooms is indeed hard to beat. It is inspiring as a Manager to know that you where treated at all times with courtesy from our front of house team here at the hotel. Rest assured your comments have been passed on to all concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

had a groupon deal for a one night stay for 2 wiht wine and full breakfast we also had a 4 course meal the staff were friendly and told you all you needed to know about times of meals a nd room and gym we were on 4th floor the room was lovely and very clean and the bed was so comfey i did not want to get out of it a bottle of white wine was in our room which was part of the groupon deal the only thing was the sirloin steak which my hubby could not eat as it was so tough but when he told staff they changed it and he had the pork which was very nice all in we had a very gd time and will go back again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you Ingrid349 for posting your recent review and highlighting the positive feedback from your short visit to the hotel to avail of the Groupon promotion. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department.
We are sorry that tthe dining experience was disappointing rest assured we will be endeavouring to source better quality beef. We do hope this will not deter you from future visits to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My DH and I had a meal out at the Marine Court a couple of weeks ago. It was Friday evening and we didnt book, but were able to get a table very quickly, there wasnt that many other diners at the time. The service was excellent, the young man who served us was probably one of the best waiters we have ever had, and I keep saying to my husband I really should email his boss to tell them what an asset to the restaurant he is..honestly a great young man. In fairness, all the staff were really welcoming,friendly and warm. The table we had was beside the windows at the front of the hotel and it was a lovely view. The food was average, I had a trio of fish and it was ok, cant say anything bad about it, but wouldnt say it was delicious either. My husband had a beef strips dish in a sauce, and same thing again, just ok. Ordered a bottle of house wine and was lovely. Had a dessert between us as we can never finish one each, toffee sponge dish with ice-cream, nothing special again, just average. 2 meals with one dessert, bottle of wine and a couple of beers, £70 approx, which I guess is average. Wouldnt go back as its all about the food at the end of the day, but service was probably the best we have ever had

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caitlin01028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Caitlin01028,
On behalf of the team here at the Marine Court may we express our appreciation for taking the time to post your review. Your comments in relation to our servers is gratifying and have been passed on to all concerned. Our team in Nelsons' work hard to consistently deliver on their natural hospitality and as you can see previous reviewers echo your feedback.
It is disappointing to learn that the food did not match the service standard we have spoken with our Head Chef and he wishes to be associated with my apologies. I do hope you will afford us a further opportunity to remedy the regrettable dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Purchased a Graboneni voucher for a one night stay for 2, with wine and full breakfast.

Hotel reception staff were friendly, welcoming and were very clear about where the room was located, timings of dinner and breakfast, checkout and location of the gym.

Our room was located on the 4th floor, which upon leaving the elevator, did not give the best first impression as it looked as if it could do with a bit modernising/refresh. However, the double room was light, spacious, generally quite clean (shower head could have done with a clean) and meet our needs well. The bed was comfortable and clean. No issues with noise from inside or outside the hotel. A bottle of red wine was also waiting for us, as part of our grabone deal.


Can't say anything about the dinning or bar facilities at the hotel as we did not use them during our stay.

Decent selection of cereal, breads, fruit etc. awaited us in the bright and very clean restaurant the following morning and the full Ulster fry did not disappoint, setting us up well for the day ahead. The member of waiting staff looked after us well and was very attentive.

Check out wnet by without any issue due to the friendly and professional approach of reception staff.

Well worth considering.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubaru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Stubaru80,

Thank you for taking the time to post your helpful and constructive comments. We are delighted you where able to avail of the promotional rate and found the accommodation exceeded your expectations on all counts. Its a pity you did not experience the fare served in Nelson's restaurant, perhaps you will on your return to the hotel. We have passed on your comments to the kitchen and reception teams regarding breakfast and check out. We look forward to welcoming back to the Marine Court in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The marine court hotel is excellent! It is one of the best places to go for a meal...the food is always great & the staff are v friendly.
We had our wedding here last june & it was fantastic! The whole experience was amazing.....The wedding co-ordinators were great in helping us to plan our big day....the wedding package offer was so reasonable. The layout of the room we got married in & the reception room were beautiful, the food was delicious (so many of our guests commented on the high standard of food & the friendliness of the staff!)
All of the staff were lovely & helpful & the day went so smoothly thanks to everyone at the Marine Court hotel.
Also the honeymoon suite is gorgeous....one of the comfiest beds ever!
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toetoes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Toestoes 84,
It is refreshing to read your 'Amazing' review and to share your inspirational comments with us in relation to your special day here at the hotel from June of last year. We are constantly reminded from fellow reviewers of how courteous and efficient our front of house team are, we are indeed fortunate to have the calibre of people here at the hotel. It is not every day you get married so I am delighted you have such happy memories of your day here at the Marine Court.

Your 1st anniversary is fast approaching so with that in mind we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

the Marine Court Hotel was our chosen venue for our wedding, on may 11th 2012. We could not have made a better chgoice. The professionalism and organisation of our day was absolutely outstanding.The whole entourage and the dedication of the staff ensures your day to be a success. The service was top class, the food was very nice and tasty and the rest of our day was left in the very capable hands of the staff. We had a fabulous day, and all went very smoothly, without any problems at all. We can recommend this venue, and the professional staff, who will make your day unforgettable.A big thank you to MAJELLA and the rest of the staff, for making us feel so welcome and for looking after us and our guest and the finishing touches to our big day. Thank you all

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,759 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
255 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing