We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and In Need but the Food was Good.”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 29 October 2012

At first glance the hotel looks O.K. Inside is quite dated with a small foyer and reception. There is nothing inviting about it but it's clean and the staff were efficient enough. To the room and this was when we contemplated just going home as the room just looked grubby. It looked like it should have dirty but it wasn't. It just needed a bit of a lift. Absolutely no character or warmth. It's about the worst reaction i've had upon first entering my room. We stayed as we'd already booked for dinner and decided to stick it out until then. The restaurant is on the first floor and had relaxed atmosphere. The staff were friendly enough but all seemed a bit too interested in the minor celeb (no idea who it was, someone from utv) in that night. The food was very tasty. And filling. This was the best thing about our stay. Breakfast was also pretty good so I am definately recommending the restaurant. If your after a relaxing weekend break by the way, this is not the hotel for you. The noise from the local nightlife would make it impossible to sleep, although we were warned of this while booking. It wasn't a problem though as we were there for a night out anyway. All in all, good food but not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thank you Glenn D for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip. We are sorry that your initial reaction was of disappointment in relation to the fabric and furnishings. It is good to see that you afforded us an opportunity to demonstrate our friendly service and excellent food. As a town centre hotel it is not always possible to assure guests that they will not experience some adverse noise during the course of their stay. We do hope that the shortcomings will not deter you from future visits to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

What a fabulous hotel. The wedding went brilliantly and the staff were just so professional, helpful and accommodating. Our disabled room on the 3rd floor was clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was just what we needed after a hectic day. The view was not the best from our room but we did not need it to be. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and it was delivered to our table freshly cooked and really tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I look forward to returning there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dysondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thanks Dysondeb, for posting your "Wedding Guest" review your feedback endorses what fellow reviewers repeatedly highlight that our hospitality is evident in all departments. We realise the importance of the breakfast offering it is very often the only dining experience the guest may have. Your comments have been passed on to our Housekeeping and Breakfast team. Look forward to having you back at the Marine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I booked The Hen Party Package with The Hotel for my friends Hen. There were 23 of us & No Complaints. The Staff were so Helpful & Friendly. Everything that was booked & planned with the Hotel went smoothly. Thanks to Aaron - The Bar man that took the cocktail making in the Night Club - he had his hands full but was really friendly & joined in the Fun.

The dinner which we had in a private room was good - & it came out quickly & with no hassle.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who was organising a Hen Party - Thanks
Again to all the Staff

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear Jill035, thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We host many "Hen" party celebrations here at the hotel with a great degree of success. The cocktail training is terrific 'craic' and is one of the highlights of the 24hr experience your nomination of Aaron as the outstanding team member has been noted he displays the important attributes required in hospitality, a friendly attitude delivered in a professional manner. Your recommendation is very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel wanting to be close to Belfast for an appointment but far enough away from the bustle of the city. When we arrived the receptionist was helpful, polite and friendly but when we arrived at out allocated room there was a distinct damp smell on opening the door. We went back to reception where the receptionist apologised and immediately gave us the key to another room at the front of the hotel overlooking the marina. What a difference. The room was clean and tidy but best of all, quiet and comfortable. One of the best nigyts sleep I've had in a hotel! Breakfast was included in the discounted price of £65.00 for the room, and that was for two people. Excellent value for money and an excellent full irish breakfast in lovely surroundings. The restaurant was on the first floor overlooking the marina and the food was superb. I would have given a rating od 5 stars for this hotel had it not been for the damp smell of our first room.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themurds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

The Murds, thank you for posting your review on Trip. We are delighted that we resolved the initial problems in relation to your first room. It is pleasing to know that your remaining stay went on without a hitch. We believe that the mix of value for money in tandem with genuine warm friendly service has a strong attraction in today's difficult market. Your comments give us the inspiration to aspire to acheiving a better grading, than our current 3 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

This must be the worst hotel I have ever been to they run out of food when you do get food it is cold raw and processed don't complain as you have more chance of seeing Santa Claus than the manager staff are rude and are fond of back chat I and my friends will never be returning

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Porsche987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thanks Porsche987, for taking the time to post your comments on Trip. I believe you attended a recent dinner here at the Hotel and experienced a few problems during the course of the evening. I am somewhat bewildered by your critique of the evening as we have received numerous positive feedback highlighting the quality of the food and courteous service. So forgive me, if our team here at the Hotel cannot concur with your views on the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Dined here lastnight at a Retirement Party..... Venue was lovely, staff very prompt but most of all the food was the best! Will return to sample their festive fare. Great for everyone, families, couples etc....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venezia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thanks Venezia 09, for taking the time to provide your very welcome feedback. The team here at the Hotel have worked hard to ensure a consistent mix of efficient service delivered in a professional, friendly, manner. Our team in the kitchen place a stong emphasis on seasonal produce with frequent changes to the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back for the Festive celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed on Sunday 7th October lovely time. Double room. Won a meal for two and a bottle of house wine really nice. So decided to make the most of it book a room. Breakfast was beautiful - plenty of it. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah_thompson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thanks Sarah_Thompson2... for taking the time to record your helpful feedback. Having redeemed your prize it is great that you enjoyed the experience. A Sunday evening is a nice time to chill out and relax. We place a strong emphasis on our breakfast offering as we are aware that it can be the last dining experience at the hotel. The breakfast team will appreciate your kind comments re the hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,759 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
255 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing