We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel with the comfiest bed ever!”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Arrived very late after drinks with friends the very friendly and efficient desk staff made checkin easy and quickly despatched me to my room with a lovely jug of iced water - shame it was too dark outside as apparently I had a sea view

The bed was very big and very big; sheets luxurious and pillows like clouds

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear Badgerdot, thank you for taking the time to provide your helpful and encouraging feedback on Trip. We are glad to hear that the check-in procedure was smooth and efficient. Indeed it is a pity that you did not see the benefit of the viewing windows from your seaview suite. Our housekeeping team are delighted you enjoyed the very welcoming king sized bed and fluffy pillows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great food, great bedroom, massive comfortable bed, brilliant staff, great night club...
Stayed on a "Groupon" deal - nothing to be ashamed of.... I think most people were on groupon. Great value for money. Two course meal and a bottle of wine for two for £30 - fab. Service alittle slow but we were in no hurry. Enjoying our company while sipping lovely wine. Will def return. Have stayed few time previously.

Room Tip: Had room at back of hotel - very quiet. No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StokesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thanks StokesTravel for taking the time to provide your feedback on your 'Groupon' stay. The team are delighted you enjoyed the 'craic' and the bonomie! we are fortunate to have a team that are passionate to deliver a friendly professional service on all counts. Our "wallet and purse" offers are hard to beat in these times of austerity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Firstly the good points re the Hotel;
Good location overlooking the marina in Bangor Co Down. Staff were efficient.
Bad Points: Gloomey inside, tired bedrooms which in fairness were perfectly clean. When we arrived the Lady at reception practically shouted 'Groupon', which was slightly embarrassing. The deluxe room overlooking the Marina was stinking of cigarette smoke so asked for another which we got. It was fine. The hotel looks and feels tired, needing a coat of paint. The noise at night was awful as the clubs were emptying so had to keep the window closed.
It was 'okay', and nothing more. Breakfast was fine and the dining area pleasant.
Unfortunately Bangor itself is a pretty depressing place in early January, with lots of boarded up shops etc. Wouldn't recommend Bangor or The Marine Court, sorry.
PS, found a fantastic little restaurant on High St called 'Art', small portions but excellent food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thanks william264 for taking the time to record your comments on Trip. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the fabric and furnishings, but as you see fellow reviewers eulogise about our friendly team. We are glad to offer 'Groupon' guests the Marine Court experience, as a town centre location we cannot guarantee that you will not at times experience a little disturbance from high street revellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A realy excellent Hotel Nice Rooms Well Furnished Good Comfatable Large Beds And A 32in Freeview Televisions In Every Room Great Staff And A Lovely Breakfast It Good To Find A Nice Hotel Wear Evrythink Is Good All At The Same Time They Are Few And Far Between These Days And All At A Resonable Price.

Room Tip: You Will Have A Nice Stay With A Excecutive Room With A Sea View,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thanks David F, for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip. The team here at the Hotel really do appreciate your constructive and helpful comments on our accommodation, breakfast and hospitality. As a three star property we realise the importance on delivering consistent value for money offers without compromising our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here mid January on a groupon deal, Janice on reception was very good, great personality and always smiling, rooms are fine, good sized bed and all that you need, tv, tea& coffee making facilities, they have a fitness club whih includes gym, steam room, jacuzzi and 18m swimming pool which s all free to use as guests.
Would recommend staying here as its close to shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Thank robboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was there to eat, not to stay. The dining area is very nice, with a view across the marina. It was interesting to see all the real boats through the big bay windows and compare those to the ones in the paintings hanging on the walls. There is an art show on, with a nautical theme. I did like some of the pictures of seagulls and boats and local scenes.
My dinner was excellent, and I'd recommend it to other diners visiting the town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thanks Mavis B, for taking the time to record your most helpful feedback. We have made tremendous improvements in the last year in Nelson's and the concensus from our regular diners is tat they approve. The vista from the viewing windows to the Marina is hard to beat. The art exhibition has been a tremendous success and was the brainchild of our good friend Katie. The restaurant and kitchen team are delighted with your comments re the dining Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This hotel is situated next to the marina and has free car-parking next to and near the hotel. However, the car park opposite is one you have to pay for. The room was good, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok though the service was a little slow. My only disappointment were the wifi facilities which you really could only get in the lobby. It was also very expensive being charged £10 for 24hrs, most of the time I couldn't pick it up in my room. So many people need good wifi facilities these days that good reception in all rooms is essential hence why I've marked this down to 'average'

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thanks Cloosie, for taking the time to post your review on Trip. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality and breakfast. All our teams from housekeeping to breakfast appreciate your comments. We are sorry that you feel the internet charge was unwarranted and are reviewing this procedure at this moment in time. Hopefully this concern will not deter you from future visits to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
265 reviews
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing