We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Bangor”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed two nights. First night, Tuesday was OK; the second night the bar next door had a karaoke evening which went on till 1.30am. The revellers then continued their festivities on the street till 2 30 am. It was not possible to open the windows because of the noise so the room was stifling.

When we mentioned this to reception in the morning and suggested a room at the back might have been offered we were told there were noisy bars near them as well.

Providing you are deaf or like all night parties this is the hotel for you. If you value your sleep and sanity avoid like the plague

Ben and Clare Thomas

Room Tip: Doubtful whether there are any good rooms in terms of peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beetee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

It was my turn to organise a night out and hotel stay for our group of friends (from the 4 corners of Ulster), I spotted a package on the Marine Courts website, dinner , bed & breakfast.
We and our friends (4 couples) arrived between 2-4pm all got checked in and met in the bar , where the excellent staff looked after us , we had thought we would probably have a bit of a pub crawl around Bangor , but we never left the hotel between the bar , the restaurant and the nightclub we spent the whole day and night looked after !
we booked the executive rooms at the front of the hotel, nice clean bright rooms with balconies and plenty of room, the evening meal and breakfast were great and served with a smile and courteous service.
Basically my friends had a great couple of days and I was legendary!! BTW make sure to have a walk around the seafront after breakfast , great for hangover cure and pleasant way to start the day.

Room Tip: worth the extra for the executive rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was Really Nice of the Hotel to upgrade our Standed Double Room Booking for 4 Nights up to a Exsecutive Room with a Lovely Sea View free of charge, Maybe this was there way of saying thay wear sorry for our Terrable stay sevral months erlyer when we had 2 rooms for 4 nights and our 2 sons with us, either way it was a Nice Gestiour to which myself and my wife Appreshated, there is and has been a lot of upgrading going on at the Hotel and it is all for the Better New TV's New Carpets and Lamps and Lampshades and we enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Marine Court and infact we have 2 rooms booked with them for another 4 nights in November, I very much Doubt that we will have our Double room Upgraded on that stay but one never Knows, The only Bad thing I would Mension is that the Breakfast serving staff should be told to wait until the Paying Guests leave there Tables befor Clearing the Plates and so forth away instead of trying to do it wile the guests are still either eating or drinking as this can be very annoying maybe a little better training, But all in all a very Nice 4 Night Stay and Mainly Very Good Service.

Room Tip: Get a Room with a Lovely Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very good value given the close proximity to central Belfast which is a 15 minute drive away. The room was a good size with a view of the harbour although the bathroom could have done with an update.
The facilities are very good with a large swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Dining was also good their evening deal of 2 courses and wine for a couple for £30 total is very good value. The cold buffet for breakfast was disappointing given almost everything was pre packed but the hot breakfast was cooked to order and was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday evening, last minute getaway and got a bargain price through Booking.com. Booked an executive room, room very clean, a bit out dated but fine for a 3 star, room just needed some colour as very dull, even a picture on the wall would help. The only fault we had was the noise from the adjoining room, a pet hate of mine is adjoining rooms with paper thin doors! Did not really appreciate having to listen to their "enthusiasm" at 2am!Used leisure facilities, they were spotless and a a nice treat for a 3 star, ate in Nelsons restaurant, a good sign was that the locals were using it, food was excellent and staff a pleasure without being in your face. Breakfast was also excellent and again girls were lovely, as were the house keepers and receptionist, have stayed in many chain hotels and often receptionists struggle to say hello! overall a lovely stay, but not sure if the full price of £110 is justified with the current condition of rooms, wouldn't like to have paid more than the £70 we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annrosepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Was wifes birthday so had an away day,sunday night 8th sept,was very quiet just nice,the bars and nite clubs in the general area were shut or quiet being sunday night.Nice central location,had a sea and marina view which really made this,the room is basic but clean and a great large comfy bed,had a meal at dinner time £29,99 two course meal and bottle of wine per couple great value and good size portions good value.Breakfast was also great and had a brill view from our table,service was great and everyone very pleasant and cortious,well done marine court.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea view or your view may be an allyway near a bar or club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband, I and our two teenage children stayed in the Marine Court Hotel in Bangor in July this year and we used same to visit Belfast and Titanic Centre. The hotel is beautifully located overlooking Bangor Marina which provides lovely walks and fantastic views across over to Larne. It is worthwhile getting a front room with balcony doors. Anyhow, kids had a twin room to side of hotel which was well furnished and clean. We had a rear room but there was a damp smell in same. The staff could not have been more helpful to us when we pointed out this. Unfortunately because it was high season the hotel was fully booked on the Sat night but they gave us an up-grade on following night and a discount on room rate. They supplied a bottle of wine on the Saturday to soften the inconvenience!. I could not recommend the staff highly enough, especially Janet in Reception. The dining room is beautiful over looking the harbour with lovely breakfast which set us up for the day. We booked here because it had swimming pool and we were not disappointed. It is a great place to sight see Belfast from and retreat in the evening. When we were there in July there was a Fun Fair set up on the Marina and there is a superb play park for younger kids. There are plenty of eateries in Bangor itself. We would definitely book here again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms to front overlooking the harbour are lovely. To be fair it is stated that there is music on S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
260 reviews
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,777 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing