We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STARTING TO SLIP ONCE MORE”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This Hotel changes like the Northern Ireland Weather, our last 2 or 3 Visits to it have Not been perfeck but have been fine with good Reception staff Good serving staff Good food Nice clean rooms and Sea Views, However on this 4 Night Stay the Hotel is Noticably Slipping back in to its old way whitch is a real shame Following Cheeck In you then seem to sadly become a room number once more with discurteas staff bad service and vary badly cooked breakfast However the breakfast serving staff are still first class its the food or the cooking what lets it down it was on the way up but sadly the best part of this latest trip was Leaving ?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is a little gem that was recommended to us by some friends who visit and it never fails to impress. And indeed we both agreed it is a great hotel with some of the best staff ever encountered, nothing was too much trouble.We spent the day shopping around Bangor which is still a lovely town to visit,we did not dine in the hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby but we finished our stay with a delicious breakfast of Ulster fry in the restaurant overlooking the busy harbour which rounded the experience of perfectly, a great hotel all round and hoping to stay again when next in Bangor

Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here recently on a grabone offer and have to say what a surprise this hotel turned out to be. free parking right outside the door and friendly staff everywhere we went, we were lucky to get a sea view room which was lovely and great views all around, the pool was lovely and when we dined in the restaurant the food was lovely in the evening as was the breakfast which was freshly made and brought to your table by friendly pleasant staff, all in all a great hotel and well worth a visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I have been in Bangor a lot but never stayed in this hotel before, so having seen it on a late deal we thought we'd give it a go! We booked the executive double which was beautiful with an amazing view; however the bathroom was very basic and dated! We went for breakfast the next morning where the staff were very pleasant, but the food was terrible. On my fry I had ordered scrambled eggs which were flavourless and watery, obviously done in the microwave and my mushrooms were raw in the middle. Apart from the breakfast the hotel was nice and the staff were extremely pleasant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kezzadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Nice friendly welcome in reception. Huge warm seaview room (204) away from lifts/passerbys, over looking the marina in January. Nice and clean, king size bed, small balcony, all usual essentials. Had a 3 course meal, which was nice enough. Hot breakfast is served fresh to order plus variety of cereals, juices etc. There are 2 bars, one being a modern sports bar with pool tables. Being Sunday it was quiet. There are swimming facilities with sauna and hot tub, we decided not to use. Overall a really pleasant stay. Rooms are great. Food was good. There are plenty of bars to chose from in and around the area. Try the salty dog, nice wine bar.

Room Tip: Room 204 - Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have stayed here more than once and know a few other places in Bangor. Really love this hotel's location, pool and gym. Had the pool to myself. The restaurant is pleasant with good views too. Can't fault the staff. The decor could do with some work and it is possible to get a very noisy room owing to a nearby venue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xxReviewerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We came here for dinner, and I was really impressed with the quality of the food. When they give you the menu there is a second sheet with the daily special menu, which is great value. Quality food, good portions at a good price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
268 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing