We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food, friendly staff in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, friendly staff in a great location!”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Travelled across to attend a wedding at another hotel and to be honest it was a pity that my cousin hadnt chosen the Marine Court because the food at the Marine court is fantastic. We had a gorgeous meal on our 2nd night and the breakfast on both mornings fab - none of this buffet rubbish seen at other hotels - a fully cooked breakfast served to our table! by very pleasant staff. Had a nosey around the hotel and it even has a swimming pool & gym - pity we hadnt brought our swim stuff! Thanks to all the staff for a very pleasant w/end - we will definitely be back with the kids in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    154
    86
    36
    24
See reviews for
99
191
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by a most charming friendly receptionist who gave us a free upgrade to the Abbey Suite, well we were amazed the room was beautiful with a four poster bed, plasma TV, sofa and chairs very impressive.

Our package included a four course dinner which was delicious, we managed to get a table in the restaurant by the window we really enjoyed the view over Bangor Marina.

The next morning we got up early and headed to the swimming pool for a nice swim then a relaxing dip in the whirlpool followed by a quick steam-room heaven.

We would diffently recommend this hotel and the deal we got was unmissable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misssunshine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

While I did not stay at hotel, I did host a pre-wedding dinner for 30 people there in November 2009. The food was good, and the customer service was excellent. The Events Manager was fantastic, going above and beyond. Not only did she deal promptly with me over the phone and by email (since I was in the U.S.), she even took my handmade decorations for the napkins and put them together at home, so that I did not have to come in and do it during the hectic wedding week. They cheerfully accomodated unexpected additions to the dinner as well. One of our weddidng party from the U.S. did stay at the hotel, with a very small child, and was extremely pleased at the personal service. There was even a listening service which allowed the parents to go to the downstairs pub while the child was napping, and the staff notifiied them when the child woke up.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotmomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2009

My partener & i stayed here to do some christmas shopping,we were over the moon with the Hotel,our room was very spacious,lovely decor,very clean,lovely view over harbour. The dinner was beautiful,& the staff couldnt be nicer,they even offered more potatos etc..but we were stuffed with the amount they gave us. Also the breakfast was fantastic,as much as you could eat.As it was december the Hotel was beautifully decorted & we took lots of pics,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & have already recommended family & friends to go & stay,& they are planning on doing so. Anyone who finds fault with this Hotel they must be blind,or just typical moaners!! Cant wait to go back & stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No1Rockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Just returned from the Marine court after two nights there on business. The service was pretty good, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was all you could ask for. I would stay there again without a problem. I will make a couple of minor observations. The hotel does become a little noisy in the morning once people start having showers and the like, but for me it was only a minor issue as i had to get up at 8 anyway. The room is very nice and perfectly comfy, but the bathroom could do with a re-vamp. It is a shower into a bath tub, with shower curtain, which I normally hate, however i must say the shower curtain was perfectly clean and the water pressure was great. No serious issues at all, and i think a good hotel for the money paid. I never ate there so i can't comment on the food. I note the complaints about noise here at tripadvisor, and it was not an issue for me, however I was there on weekdays.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronandkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

myself and hubby were to stay last night at the marine court hotel for a romantic night without the kiddies,but sorry to say we left at 10 30 pm,the noise from the disco was just too much and i suspected that after it finished we would hear alot of noise from the bins being used afterwards as the there was alot of bottles being thrown in the bins just outside our suite.It was such a dissapointment as the suite was so beautiful and the hotel itself is lovely,but just could nt put up with the noise.
I think it would be grand sun to thurs,but not at weekends unless you don t ming the thudding music

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benji55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel over weekend on business. I did not think there would be any problems after all the positive reviews. However I was wrong.

First impressions were fine, however the room I was in was nothing like the pictures etc grout was missing from the floor tiles, soap dishes were corroded, poor natural lighting, poor artificial lighting. Room had a dining room table, but no comfortable seat. It din't look like the carpet had been vacuummed.

I then realised why I was in that room when a disco was thumping away. yes there is mention on the website of weekend entertainment however there is no mention of what and when it goes on until. When I complained was told that I already knew about it, strabge as I was travelling from 0345 that morning and did not get to sleep until 0200 the following morning because of it. If I'd known then I would have beooked else wher, I was then told my bookers knew about this disco. whenI checked my bookers on Monday morning (who have been booking all my business travel for 5 years without a problem), and they said there is nothing in there notes and had they known they would have told me.

Any way to cut a long story short I was treated abysmally, particularly the way my complaint was handled as though it was my fault, and the other issues compounded it.

This hotel failed miserably in it's mission statement and values (customer is first) which I'm sure the staff don't know anything about as even if they personally thought I knew about the disco they could have still handled it better. I was going to book further stays here until that experience. I went elsewhere and will continue to do so.

Based on my experiences, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in so far in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelt00much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,663 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
8.4 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Property: Marine Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing