We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ennislare Guest House
Ranked #6 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Nice little guest house, staff very friendly, breakfast was very satisfactory, got parked right out front of premises within the grounds of the accomodation- my room was a very small single roon but I didnt mind- had a great night out in Bangor, will be back

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi_W865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Nice location and you can walk to town in minutes. Jenny and Ann were great hosts and very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with great coffee. Parking was tight but we managed. Bangor is a lovely city with great restaurants and lots of shopping. I highly recommend Ennislare Guest House.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieCReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms and Jenny the manager was so nice and helpful. Great location to walk downtown. Breakfasts were very good and the owner was helping prepare the food and serve it as well. You could sit outside on the lovely large porch and view downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieCReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Tucked away in a quiet, residential part of town, but still within easy walking distance of seafront pubs, restaurants and retail streets, this is a little gem. It's small; there appeared to be only two or three rooms on each of three floors. We were at the front of the building, on the top floor from which you CAN see the sea and although not in the first flush of life, managed the stairs with ease. Although the wardrobe seemed to come from the local cut price warehouse's basic range, the room was fine, comfortable bed with the most sumptuous linen and good sized bathroom (shower over bath) under the eves. Our welcome was warm and fulsome, Anne making us feel completely at home but we really got our Late Room's moneys worth when we came down to eat! Believe all the praise others have heaped on Ennislare's breakfasts. The adjacent table, with two primary aged children whose parents described as “fussy eaters” were catered for so well that even they left perfectly clean plates. Off road parking is limited so try to beat the rush.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Good location - walking distance to the marina, shops and Bangor train station. We also had a room with a good view of the water so that is great. It is charming from an old house's perspective but can also be a disadvantage if you don't like squeaky floors, especially if you are not on the top floor and is prone to waking up from these noises. Also, since this is an old house, the sink has separate faucets for hot and cold - so you either burn yourself or freeze your hands. Good thing the shower is not like that! There are good choices for hot breakfast which is included in the rate. The rooms are clean and I know they try hard to keep it clean but I think once a guest smokes in the room, it can be very hard to remove the stench. So even though the room may not smell of smoke, when you lay down on your bed, the stench is still noticeable which must be coming from the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuieLuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

So lets start this off by saying I only paid £40 for a single bed for the night as I was working in the area and I was really not expecting a great deal, but for the money you really do get a lot.

The rooms a reasonable size, the bed was fine and I'm 6" 5', the bathroom had a shower unit and there was off road parking. Only down side I can see is they don't start serving breakfast until 8am and I needed to go to work before then so had to skip it.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to crash for the night its a fine place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Ennislare guest house is located a short walk from the centre of Bangor in a quite residential street. The guest house is stylishly decorated and the rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The two ladies who run the guest house were very friendly and welcoming, we got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious and there was a good selection of cold alternatives. All in all we had a lovely, sadly too brief (one night) stay and I am sure if we were to be back in this area again, we would be staying at Ennislare guest house. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_fan_uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astala Guest House
Astala Guest House
#7 of 18 in Bangor
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#1 of 18 in Bangor
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
30Seacliff
30Seacliff
#4 of 18 in Bangor
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cairn Bay Lodge
The Cairn Bay Lodge
#3 of 18 in Bangor
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princetown Guesthouse
Princetown Guesthouse
#5 of 18 in Bangor
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennislare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennislare Guest House

Address: 7-9 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: £72 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ennislare Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ennislare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennislare Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing