We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dobbins Inn Hotel(Carrickfergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rayanne House(Holywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
225
31
8
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
31
8
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarfish cafeb bpotato cakesstar fishfriendly hostsplum chutneyview of the bayporridgecrabfabulous placevisiting bangornorthern irelandfilter coffeehome madehighly recommend a staybreakfast roomsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for one night, before moving in to their self catering house next door with extended family for a weekend in Northern Ireland for a family wedding. We arrived fairly late and tired, and despite having to wait for 10 minutes for someone to answer the door, the welcome was warm and the hospility carried on in that vein. Chris and Jenny were friendly, accomodating and provided the best breakfast that i probably have had .... ever!
We stayed in a family room, which was comfy, well decorated, with some nice touches (crisps- yum- instead of plain bisuits to have with your tea/hot chocolate) and i have no doubt that if we wanted for anything Jenny an Chris would have tried their best to provide.
There was a home baked cake on the landing which i unfortunately didnt get to try (because we had had a big meal at the Jamaica Inn just along the road- very nice), but again, it was a nice touch.
Only comment: as a family, with kids, we didnt want to disturb them when they were sleeping so we went down to the lounge room..... which maybe could benefit from a small TV!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thankyou for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it is nice when someone appreciates all the little extras! We specifically don't have a TV in the guest lounge and it is for relaxing, reading and enjoying the views over the bay. We hope to see you all again soon!
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel is full of old furniture and has a lovely ambience.The hosts Chris and Jenny are most welcoming and even provided cake on our arrival.The grounds are extensive and pleasant and there is off street parking.The breakfast offered a wide variety of choice to suit everyone and included locally sourced produce.
The location is good too within walking distance of the town,but quiet.
Rooms are spacious and all different

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. Chris and Jenny were lovely hosts. The room was excellent and we really loved the Tayto crisps and Kit Kats on the hospitality tray!
Location was very convenient and had great views.
Best of all was the breakfast. It was evident that a great deal of consideration was put into the menu and I would highly recommend the slow cooked porridge - divine!!
We would highly recommend a stay at the Cairn Bay Lodge - we plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopper771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

One of the best B&Bs we had the pleasure to stay in! Chris and Jenny are very lovely hosts who give you a very warm welcome. We enjoyed the "Tea by the Sea" and can only recommend it. The great view, the cosy living room, and the great sandwiches and scones - a perfect place to sit and find peace. The rooms are lovely furnished, comfortable beds, and nice bathrooms. Breakfast can only be recommended: Fresh fruitsalad, fruit juices from local farmers, very delicous porridge, and fantastic main courses! It was so good we would have stayed longer than just two days if we've had the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koellealaaf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Excellent family run hotel located in a picturesque setting over looking Cairn Bay. Rooms, food & service all excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews