We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dobbins Inn Hotel(Carrickfergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rayanne House(Holywood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
225
31
8
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
31
8
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarfish cafeb bpotato cakesstar fishfriendly hostsplum chutneyview of the bayporridgecrabfabulous placevisiting bangornorthern irelandfilter coffeehome madehighly recommend a staybreakfast roomsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We were attending a wedding nearby and spent a lot of time choosing somewhere to stay - Cairn Bay Lodge looked really good and we were looking forward to staying. However we ended up being moved (by the bridal party, not by the B&B) into one of the "luxury" beach houses. There are two so maybe the first one is luxury, but the one we stayed in was seriously tatty. The downstairs was okay, but upstairs was awful - furniture falling apart, moth-eaten rugs etc. The house is huge and would be okay value if full, but just for the two of us it was creepy. Very cold so we had to have the heating on all the time. But the worst of all (and pretty unforgivable in my view) was the showers - there were two, one of which did not work at all, and the other one may as well not have bothered - no water pressure and dodgy temperature so we spent our showers dodging in and out of a dribble of water that was either too hot or too cold. We had breakfasts in the B&B which seemed nice, although we were not asked once whether our stay was okay, how the house was etc. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband is from Bangor and when we come to visit friends and family, as we live overseas, we always look forward to being welcomed with open arms from Cairn Bay lodge! Both Jenny and Chris do an excellent job of making feel like we're at our home away from home. The breakfast is also excellent and there is always some delicious carrot cake waiting for us in the afternoon ....... The products in the rooms are Voya which is an amazing brand of amenities from a company based in Ireland - true luxury! All in all I can't recommend this place enough. Make sure to book well in advance so you won't be disappointed as this place is very popular!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Michelle and Ken,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review for us. It is always encouraging when someone in the same business appreciates what you are doing!
We are glad that you appreciate the Voya toiletries too - they are divine!
Looking forward to seeing you next week.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Five stars across the board. If you don't stay here you will miss the geniune friendliness of Jenny and Chris Mullen that you can't get at other places. Its a family owned place that knows the importance of treating their guests like VIPs. Geoff from Montreal.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Irishone,

We are so glad that you enjoy your stays with us and we have always looked forward to your visits over the years.
We hope it won't be too long until we see you again.
Look after yourself!
Warm regards,
Chris and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked this guest house at the last minute, and by all accounts, were very lucky they had a cancellation due to hurricane sandy. I'm not surprised they were booked up. This was far and away the most pleasant overnight stay I've had in years. Very friendly, but comfortable reception, a beautiful cosy room, warm with a very tasteful, quality old time charm. The room facilities were top notch, and a pre order extensive breakfast menu which was easy to fill in and efficient. Breakfast was somewhat more than your usual, "cooked or continental,". A wide choice of all I can describe as gourmet food, as well as the usual ulster fry, fresh fruit salads, and cereals. All in all, a b and b of 5 star status...Highly recommended..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybluester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Billy,

Thankyou for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have just stayed at the cairn bay for three nights over the weekend and I must say it is a brillant B&B. The breakfast is out of this world using all locally sources ingredients Chris and Jenny put on an exceptional spread for breakfast.
They are very genial hosts and nothing is two much trouble giving advice where to eat in the evenings and providing guidance of how to access the visitor attractions. We visited the Titanic quarter in Belfast and they organized the trip for us with a local guide.
There are two minor points of disappointment, you have to get down on your knees to boil the kettle as the plug is under the dressing table and there is no heat in the bathroom, but I would recommend the place any way.

Room Tip: All are about the same size
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppypatricia, Owner at The Cairn Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Steve,

Thankyou for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Northern Ireland and we hope it won't be your last!
We have found a new home for the kettle and that particular bathroom will have heating in the new year.
Kind regards,
Chris and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews