We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

From my initial telephone conversation with Chris I knew Cairn Bay Lodge was the perfect place to stay on our trip to Bangor. He was very friendly and helpful with our booking and any other queries we had. The building and grounds are beautiful and the attention to detail in decor and furnishings are second to none. The breakfast menu is simply amazing and the food is of such high quality. Chris and his wife should be very proud of the business they run, because they really do go that extra mile for their guests. Highlights of our stay....the friendly welcome, the lovely little tea hamper in the bedroom filled with tasty treats, the delicious home made cakes baked for us, the comfiest bed giving us a great night's sleep and the beautiful views from the house itself. Cairn Bay Lodge is definitely worth a visit. A perfect place to stay with so many luxuries and very reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    26
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
69
90
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have just returned from our second stay here visiting family. We stayed in the same room, Island View which overlooks Ballyholme Bay. What a view! You are treated to lots of goodies such as complimentary water, Tayto crisps and Kit Kats in your room. Fresh milk and slices of cake are just outside your bedroom door. (are you getting the picture?.?) Breakfasts are just fantastic with a superb choice of beautiful fresh fruits and yummy yogurt. Chris makes great porridge served with cream and local honey and has a great selection of cooked breakfasts. With the house, the setting and lovely hosts Chris and Jenny we won't look past this home from home on our next visit to Bangor!

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room overlooking he bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We just rounded up our 10 day trip to Ireland (now our annual pilgrimage) in Bangor, Northern Ireland. We ended up in Bangor, frankly, because of the wonderful reviews we had read about Chris and Jenny at Cairn Bay Lodge on TripAdvisor. All of the glowing reviews were 100% accurate! Chris and Jenny went above and beyond to make us comfortable, from making dinner reservations, to arranging taxis and even serving breakfast a little earlier so that we could eat and still make our flight home. The breakfast was amazing! We had just come from 4 nights at the Ritz Carlton, and didn't think anything could come close to the Gordon Ramsey team, but our breakfasts for scrumptious! I had the porridge the one morning and it melted in my mouth. We were traveling with three children ages 11,10& 6. They had so much fun playing outside with Bonnie and Clyde the dogs of the house. Also, directly across the street is a great beach where the kids were able to find new pieces of coveted sea glass. We spent the day in Belfast and it was very easy to travel in and out. Cairn Bay Lodge is a great alternative to staying in the city of Belfast, especially with the wonderful hospitality that Chris and Jenny offer. I highly recommend Cairn Bay Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennMo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

A gem of a hotel, situated within 10 mins from the centre of Bangor, A fairly substantial building with plenty of rooms. Don't forget that this is someone's home as well, The landlord couldn't be more helpful. Everything in the room is well thought out, a superb shower, plenty of hot water and warmth, maybe a little too warm at times, but after a long journey, it was a pleasant surprise to find somewhere so friendly. It's the little touches that make this somewhere to visit, the extra mile that they go to please their visitors. At the back of the hotel is a substantial garden and plenty of parking, don't park on the road in front, there's no need to.
Breakfast is by means of a tick list the night before, so you chose exactly what you require and at what time you would like it, always spot on time. Excellent food, and good coffee well cooked on warm plates and plenty of it not overcooked or greasy, which really sets you up for the day.
If you're there and you hear music, it could be one of their daughters practicing the flute, she's rather quite good.
Well recommended for anyone who wants somewhere quiet but friendly to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have just returned from Cairn Bay Lodge where I stayed whilst working away from my home town of Manchester. Although we only stayed for two nights we were defiantly made to feel welcome and were looked after extremely well. Rooms were clean, tidy and very comfortable and full English breakfast was exceptional. Would highly recommend this accommodation and will defiantly be booking again should we return to this area .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcjsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nazaire, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed in Cain Bay Lodge ( houses 1 and 2 ) with a group of French students. Everybody enjoyed the location, the view, the rooms and the excellent breakfast . Chris and Jenny were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 103sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My Daughter and I had to travel to Bangor from England to deal with my Brother's funeral .
Although I am a Bangor boy ( aging !) it has been many years since I have been back to visit.
By a stroke of good fortune and having read previous reviews on this site I booked us into The Cairn Bay Lodge.
Chris and Jenny are a lovely couple, and they have a lovely family, not forgetting Bonnie and Clyde their two dogs!
I really thank them for the wonderful welcome they extended to us. I loved everything about Cairn Bay Lodge, it really was first class.
Breakfast is an experience in itself in their beautiful dining room, 5 Star!
If you appreciate old world charm and beautiful surroundings this place is a must for you if visiting Bangor.
Thank you once again Chris and Jenny, hopefully one day I will manage another visit under happier circumstances.

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
3.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
974 reviews
6.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,699 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Property: The Cairn Bay Lodge
Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing