We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was our first visit. We stayed for 3 nights. My wife is a Bangorian and never knew such a place existed until recently. Chris and Jenny are the perfect host and hostess. Stayed in Balcony room overlooking gardens at rear. Facilities were excellent with cleanliness set at a very high standard. Room large and comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing with regard to choice and presentation. We will have no hesitation in staying here again and would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse.

Robert and Hilary C
Ballymena
21st May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here for one night when in Bangor visiting the in-laws. It was our first time staying here and we really enjoyed it. We had a great en-suite room with views over the garden. We really enjoyed watching the two dogs romp around the place having fun. The B & B is full of interesting bits and pieces in every room and there are a couple of lounges to relax in. The breakfasts are quite famous and you order what you would like to eat the night before. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was the second visit we have made to Cairn Bay Lodge. Chris and Jenny are the most helpful friendly hosts you could wish to meet. They can recommend places to eat and were happy to make reservations for us while we went off to enjoy ourselves. The house is superb and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a relaxed affair with superb food in a beautiful dining room. Bonnie and Clyde just topped the visit - we spent lots of time watching their antics in the garden!! We would not hesitate to recommend Cairn Bay to anyone and we will certainly be back. Keep up the good work - Penny and John

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopaholoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

If you want a perfect getaway for the right price in a beautiful place, then Ballyholme strand has it. This cute 7 bedroom B&B is family run and beautifully appointed, no detail is too small.. I had the Seaview room and its so cute with its own little terrace and fireplace. Breakfasts are stellar with a menu not found everyday.
Highly recommend this place, for its unpretentious ambience and brilliant location

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikkiMMiami Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

From my initial telephone conversation with Chris I knew Cairn Bay Lodge was the perfect place to stay on our trip to Bangor. He was very friendly and helpful with our booking and any other queries we had. The building and grounds are beautiful and the attention to detail in decor and furnishings are second to none. The breakfast menu is simply amazing and the food is of such high quality. Chris and his wife should be very proud of the business they run, because they really do go that extra mile for their guests. Highlights of our stay....the friendly welcome, the lovely little tea hamper in the bedroom filled with tasty treats, the delicious home made cakes baked for us, the comfiest bed giving us a great night's sleep and the beautiful views from the house itself. Cairn Bay Lodge is definitely worth a visit. A perfect place to stay with so many luxuries and very reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have just returned from our second stay here visiting family. We stayed in the same room, Island View which overlooks Ballyholme Bay. What a view! You are treated to lots of goodies such as complimentary water, Tayto crisps and Kit Kats in your room. Fresh milk and slices of cake are just outside your bedroom door. (are you getting the picture?.?) Breakfasts are just fantastic with a superb choice of beautiful fresh fruits and yummy yogurt. Chris makes great porridge served with cream and local honey and has a great selection of cooked breakfasts. With the house, the setting and lovely hosts Chris and Jenny we won't look past this home from home on our next visit to Bangor!

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room overlooking he bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We just rounded up our 10 day trip to Ireland (now our annual pilgrimage) in Bangor, Northern Ireland. We ended up in Bangor, frankly, because of the wonderful reviews we had read about Chris and Jenny at Cairn Bay Lodge on TripAdvisor. All of the glowing reviews were 100% accurate! Chris and Jenny went above and beyond to make us comfortable, from making dinner reservations, to arranging taxis and even serving breakfast a little earlier so that we could eat and still make our flight home. The breakfast was amazing! We had just come from 4 nights at the Ritz Carlton, and didn't think anything could come close to the Gordon Ramsey team, but our breakfasts for scrumptious! I had the porridge the one morning and it melted in my mouth. We were traveling with three children ages 11,10& 6. They had so much fun playing outside with Bonnie and Clyde the dogs of the house. Also, directly across the street is a great beach where the kids were able to find new pieces of coveted sea glass. We spent the day in Belfast and it was very easy to travel in and out. Cairn Bay Lodge is a great alternative to staying in the city of Belfast, especially with the wonderful hospitality that Chris and Jenny offer. I highly recommend Cairn Bay Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennMo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
3.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,046 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#1 of 18 in Bangor
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: £80 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing