We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B and B I have ever been in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cairn Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best B and B I have ever been in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Am here on a three night preaching tour in Northern Ireland - based in Bangor. And what a base! This B and B is full of class and quality. The view from my window is beautiful, rooms excellent and the service is superb. But the absolute highlight is the breakfast - just think Ulster fry with class and panache!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theweeflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    24
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
68
88
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recently spent 11 days working in Bangor and was strongly advised to book into the Cairn Bay Lodge - you can't beat local know-how. It was an 11-day rest cure. A lovely double room ("Island View") with a large bay window looking out across the beach and bay. The cheery welcome I received from Chris set the mood for my entire stay. There is little I can add to all the other enthusiastic reviews except to agree totally. The pre-ordered breakfasts are a special treat - they certainly know who to poach an egg. I dpend much of my working life staying in B&Bs of variable quality and have no hesitation in rating the Cairn Bay with the equally outstand Old Rectory on Malone Road, S.Belfast. High praise indeed. I can't wait to return...this time for a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here on Friday night past, and I cant recommend it highly enough. Chris and Jenny were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother. The room was bright and airy, clean and with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was also delicious and would be worth going back for alone!

Room Tip: The balcony suite was bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Charming and quirky decor, a lovely room with super-comfy bed and a wonderful breakfast from a menu that would put top-class hotels to shame. Close to town, but situated on a beautiful bay, it's a terrific location too. This was a lucky choice for us and we'll definitely be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

After turning up without a booking the hosts were incredibly generous in accommodating me. They put me in the Snug, this had a very nice homely feel about it and was very well presented all round with good Internet connection (free) and nice snacks available (also free), including some awesome carrot cake outside the rooms. Any enquiry put to the owners was kindly and carefully dealt with and they both had a lovely caring attitude about your day. The breakfast is famous, talk around the town for excellence. I had several and have to say that I completely agree, stayed in many hotels and more often skip breakfast completely, here that just isn't an option. Highly recommended to stay at the Cairn for sure x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji1dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just back from another great stay with Chris and Jenny on our trip home to Bangor from Scotland. Island View room has such a comfortable bed and a superb view over Ballyholme Bay. Breakfast is top class with fresh fruits and cereals and a cooked breakfast which cannot be bettered. Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakbank62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Really nice room, with great facilities! Hot chocolate and Tayto's as well as you usual tea and coffee. Lovely spacious bathroom - had a slight problem with the toilet, but let Chris know and it was sorted straight away. Really lovely location, just off the beach with a gorgeous view from our room. Bangor was much nicer than some of the other large towns nearby in NI, lots of little pubs and restaurants and Chris was only too happy to point us in the right direction of where to go! Breakfast was to die for so much so that we ate soooooo much of it, it lasted us through till dinner! Thank You for making our stay in NI so enjoyable, will definitely stay here again if we return to NI!

Room Tip: We Emailed Chris and Jenny prior as my Partner is very tall and needed a bed with no foot board, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
6.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Property: The Cairn Bay Lodge
Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing