We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem on the bay, fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

nights in this beautiful place, the room and the bathroom were big and well equipped, common rooms were so nice and with a wonderful view on the sea, the ownners so kind to us and the breakfast was fantastic: the best eggs benedict of our life!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spectacular room, great breakfasts, nice personal touches that exceeded our expectations. We started our week in Ireland with two nights at Cairn Bay Lodge, and there's no better place to stay in Bangor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A sea view from a very spacious room with loads of storage and a beautiful bathroom. The towels and bed linen of excellent quality and the breakfasts sumptuous. So good in June we are doing a return visit in September.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have excellent sea views and you can watch the yachts racing, whilst rooms to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed over the weekend and we had a fantastic time in Cairn Bay Lodge. Our room was brill , great decor - really charming and quirky , everything was clean and the room was really spacious. The breakfast was fantastic , great selection of fruits/yoghurt/juices and the cooked meal options was delicious. The service was great with a variety of guides laid out to browse about the local area and any queries we had Chris and Jenny were only too happy to help us with. Good location right by the beach for a lovely walk or into Bangor along the sea front. The cake left for guests in the evenings was a great idea and a lovely addition to our stay. We would definitely come back again !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niamhs456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in this B&B as attending a wedding nearby. We were able to check in early & return to the wedding & were made feel very welcome from arrival. The rooms was fresh, spacious & very well equipped. The house itself is just gorgeous & the gardens were a pleasure to walk around after breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was the best of local produce & really delicious. We have stayed in Bangor many times before in B&B's & hotels but we would highly recommend staying here over anywhere else we have stayed. We will hopefully return soon with our 2 children as it would be ideal for families as well as couples.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelchyDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a seaside view that was just stunning! Jenny and Chris are amazing hosts and the food was delicious. We had so much fun touring all of Northern Ireland with the Lodge being our homebase. We wish we could have stayed longer. Bonnie and Clyde will be in our hearts forever and we hope someday to see this place again. It was magical and really made our stay a trip of a lifetime. Thank-you for your hospitality, you have a really beautiful place there. Love the antiques!

Rosemary & Trevor Johnston Niverville MB Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside view, you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Superb location on the seafront at Ballyholme & walking distance to the sailing club & several good bars & restaurants (book restaurants in advance on the weekends). The decor is stunning old world wood panel & the gardens really nice too. Rooms are quite big with good size ensuites. Shower pressure no great but this is the only gripe with this excellently run B&B. Breakfasts are stunning with a choice only usually available at 5star hotels - freshly cooked too - none of that buffet stuff you get in most hotels nowadays. Highly recommend using this B&B both for Bangor and for Belfast City as its only about 20mins drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room or if you want quiet night a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandSue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
3.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,046 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#1 of 18 in Bangor
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: £79 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing