We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, with a touch of class from the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cairn Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We had a lovely stay in this charming house of character, with excellent food and attentive hosts, we couldnt have asked for better, The little extras ,available throughout the house to make the stay as nice as possible, and set this accomodation on a level above,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for The Cairn Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 night and would highly recommend Cairn Lodge. Beautiful setting and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Worth staying here if you are visiting Bangor, County Down or want an easy train ride to Belfast. A little bit of comfy - chic elegance, with discreet, busy but friendly hosts. Beautiful breakfasts, in fact second to none! Little extra's in each room and quality toiletries are a lovely added touch.
A bit of a walk to get a good selection of meals, but touring to Strangford Lough and Mount Stewart Gardens worthwhile.
Kate and Alan, Gold Coast, Australia June 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldcoastGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

If you are staying in Bangor don't go past The Cairn Bay Lodge. Jenny and Chris go out of their way to make you welcome. All the niceties are privided, large bottles of wonderful products in the bathroom, a cupboard full of items in case you forgot to bring something, fresh cake on a stand outside the rooms, magazines and books everywhere and breakfast is wonderful, not to mention the view of the bay. A real pampering idea, Jenny has a beauty salon in the lodge so have a facial or massage followed by high tea in the lounge - perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KillaraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

You will be made to feel extra special at Cairn Bay Lodge. Chris and Jenny really know how to make your stay relaxing, stress free and highly pleasurable...quite welcome seeing as we had our one year old daughter with us...!!

The breakfast menu was equisite with lots of choice and our bedroom (which was facing the bay) was like something from a good home magazine. There was even a different home made cake to help yourself too on the way to your room..!!

I had a massage in the spa which was also amazing. We can't wait to go back again next year and only wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was our second visit to Cairn Bay Lodge as we loved it so much on our first stay. The location is excellent with beautiful sea views and only a 20 minute walk into Bangor town centre. Friendliness of owners, staff and hospitality was1st class and would rate food and accommodation as good as any 5 star hotel but much more welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was the best we have ever had with an excellent choice on menu comparing it to all other top hotels we have stayed in. You will certainly not come away hungry! We will definately stay here again as it is perfect for a total chill out weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I had occasion to stay at the Cairn Bay Lodge with my daughter very recently. Sadly we were visiting Bangor for a family funeral. It was my first visit to this wonderful establishment. The owners, Chris and Jenny made us extremely welcome, it was a home from home but more luxurious. The breakfast was second to none - a marvelous selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and the best cooked breakfast I have had in a very long time. Our room was beautifully decorated with extremely comfortable beds and the next time I am in Bangor the Cairn Bay Lodge will be my first port of call. Keep up the good work, change nothing because what you have really works well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnchanteeJarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
561 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
6.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#1 of 18 in Bangor
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cairn Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cairn Bay Lodge

Address: 278 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5HS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: £78 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cairn Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Jenny Mullen welcome you to a guesthouse for the discerning traveler, set in extensive gardens directly overlooking Ballyholme Beach, offering the highest standard of food, accommodation and service. All en-suite rooms with either beach or garden views. Gourmet breakfasts, health and beauty treatments and shop stocking local crafts and produce. Winner N. Ireland Tourism Award Guesthouse of the Year 2006 and 2007, runner up 2008. Ideal base to tour Belfast and Ard Peninsula. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Cairn Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cairn Bay Hotel
The Cairn Bay Lodge Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing