We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Day Out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangor Castle

Bangor Castle
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This castle is one of the best we have ever seen.
We started off on a guided tour and the guide was brilliant every question he was asked he knew the answer. The tour lasted about 40 mins and was BRILL. This is well worth a visit .If you are looking for a day out this place is a MUST SEE. All the staff are very friendly and are open to any question you have. Great for all ages - Family - Children.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BucksLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I recently got married in Bangor Castle and it was a perfect location for my small wedding, it held all my guests comfortably and the setting of the grand room with the huge stain glass windows made for lovely pictures.
The registrar also helped to make the day perfect and he was very professional yet approachable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank heeelllooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Splendid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great to walk around the ouside of the castle, but inside it is a working council offices so you won't see a lot.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmilerBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to get married”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We got married at the castle. The wedding room itself is not the post picturesque but the grounds more than make up for that.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank isabella1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very informative and enjoyable first visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was a small but interesting museum - one of those places where the slower you took it, the more you enjoyed it. Slightly confusing route, even with the map in our hand, but that just made it more fun.
Didn't use the restaurant as we had lunch with us, but the prices looked very reasonable.
A visit to the walled garden was the high point. Don't think I've ever seen such a large well kept walled garden. Also no shortage of toilets in this area - we found four different ones altogether.
Other towns and local cities could take a leaf out of Bangor's books.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisburnScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangor Castle also viewed

 
Crawfordsburn, Bangor
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bangor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing