We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangor Castle

Bangor Castle
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not really impressed”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I've lived about 10 miles from Bangor for a long time and have never felt the need to revisit Bangor Castle. It's not really worth a visit to be honest.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dramaqueen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A TOWN HALL TO OUTCLASS ANY CASTLE”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Ulster tourists must visit this historic building I liked it so much I even got married here back in 2007. The Union Flag flies and the staff are very informative and the Mayor Wesley Irvine even took time out to show us his chambers and personal office, where else but Bangor would you get that hospitality

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BILLY THE FISH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I recently got married at Bangor Castle. We had a very small, intimate wedding just close family, 9 in total and this venue was perfect. It rained heavily all day so unfortunately we didn't get a chance to have any photographs taken in the gardens but because we were the last wedding of the day we got plenty of opportunity at various locations within the castle. The registrar who married us, Clare, was just lovely, she put us totally at ease and worked miracles with our 8 year old daughter who did a reading but is usually very shy. Clare and the others members of staff were very helpful and accommodating with us and our photographer which we really appreciated since the weather was so bad. The stained glass window in the council chambers was a lovely backdrop to a lot of our photos.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great spot for weddings”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

If your lucky to live about Bangor and want to get married at the Castle you will get some lovely pics of the wedding, if its sunny its a great back drop for pics with its sand stone building. and its floral gardens,.A nice place to walk the dog as well

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This castle is one of the best we have ever seen.
We started off on a guided tour and the guide was brilliant every question he was asked he knew the answer. The tour lasted about 40 mins and was BRILL. This is well worth a visit .If you are looking for a day out this place is a MUST SEE. All the staff are very friendly and are open to any question you have. Great for all ages - Family - Children.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BucksLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangor Castle also viewed

 
Crawfordsburn, Bangor
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bangor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing