We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below par dinner”
Review of Nelsons Restaurant

Nelsons Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 160 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Below par dinner”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was in the restaurant on Friday night along with my wife. I had a starter and main and she just a main. My starter of garlic prawns was lovely but my steak was poor. Tough, quite fatty and not particularly big. Sorry, 2 out of 10.
My wife had chicken which was lovely. I've eaten here quite regularly over the years and as you know these places are judged on their last meal.
I will go back but just hope it was a one off, anyone can have an off day.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Night-train88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very friendly service and great food served in a lovely room with great views over the marina.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSlyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I know Christmas Dinner out in any Hotel can be a challenge for any Hotel but Dec 2011 was like Faulty Towers. We booked for 8pm and arrived at 7-45. We were all (party of 14) seated at 9.20. Couldn't get any drinks as the lovely girl left alone at the bar couldn't serve everyone. Her head moved like she was watching a tennis match. Food arrived cold and head staff argued over order despite was pre-ordered over phone. Nice finishing touch was the mash which looked as if it had been scooped from other tables contained pieces of veg. Turkey should have come with a chain saw not a knife. Recommend? no!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feetofflames35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I ate here between Christmas and New Year, we hadnt been in a long time because the service was bad on our last visit.
As always our steaks were cooked to total perfection and the rest of the meal was excellent.
We were delighted with the service and found the staff very efficient. Our waiter, Sunny, was attentive without being in your face and made it a great night.
Sunny is a credit to you!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CM149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Christmas Night Out”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Myself and 29 friends had our Christmas Party Night here and it was made fabulous by the food which was delicious and generous, the service that was terrific and left us wanting for nothing, and, finally the atmosphere which gave our party a swing. We all enjoyed the evening and a big Thank You to all - look forward to seeing you again soon.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bonzosboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelsons Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Nelsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing