We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Bangor Castle Walled Garden
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
dundee, scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A lovely walk through the park and into the walled garden, which is looking lovely. Coffee and scones in the museum cafe, which is always lovely with wonderful staff. Love it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank breaklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    59
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walled Garden”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely to take a stroll round. The fountain and sculpture are lovely. Very pleasant to sit in, especially in the summer. Nice atmosphere, it is nice to watch the change in the plants, shrubs from it was first opened.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Avril L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One word peaceful”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

a beautiful and very relaxing place. It is almost like Bangor's very own garden of Eden, without the serpent and apple tree

Helpful?
Thank Trea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A tranquil hidden gem with inspirational planting. And it's free!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am a gardener and so to me this award winning Walled Garden is nothing short of inspirational.

The garden was restored and re-opened in 2009 and even though the garden had a way to go at that point I have lovely memories of walking round the garden with my sleeping baby daughter her in her pram watching the steady progress the garden was making.

And all that early work was well worthwhile - in 2013 the planting was so beautiful I felt compelled to write to North Down Borough Council to tell them how much pleasure it was giving Bangor's residents. Their response was to say that they had received an overwhelming amount of positive feedback from visitors and horticulturists alike and this does not surprise me.

The garden is divided into different zones - traditional formal planting, edible and medicinal plants, a bog garden, a band stand area and, last year, the most beautiful area of natural flower meadow planting I have ever seen. And there is also a stunning restored Victorian glasshouse and an outdoor cafe run by the Cafe Cure group who serve excellent coffee and pastries under parasols in a quiet corner beside the band stand.

I could elegise the many reasons why I love this garden for some time but perhaps it might be better if I focus on the highpoints;

1. Beautiful open layout with a central arched walkway leading to a dancing fountain.
2. Inspiring planting. I challenge you not to get your gardening gloves on after visiting this garden.
3. Such a tranquil place to escape to from the business of life.
4. It's free. I can't emphasise enough how amazing that fact is. I have parted with many a pound (or five) for the priviledge of visiting gardens which are not even in the same league as this one.

In 2013 we were as proud as punch to talk to an American couple who had come to Bangor for the Police and Fire Games and who were stunned at how beautiful the walled garden was. Obviously the blue skies and balmy weather helped, but I think even on a dull day you will leave this garden with a lighter heart.

Well done North Down Borough Council. I'll be waiting at the gates on the 6 April when it opens for 2014!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubyShoes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely setting in Castle Park near the Town Hall - well laid out with old fashioned greenhouse and lovely band stand - small coffee area and water features. In the summer lovely venue for picnics and theatre events (weather permitting)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeetime93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangor Castle Walled Garden also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bangor Castle Walled Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing