We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill take away”
Review of Gringos - CLOSED

Gringos
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gringos is a fantastic new Bring Your Own (BYO) mexican restaurant experience offering all the delights of Mexico and more! We aren't going to give you the normal sales patter, we simply say "pruébelo usted mismo" or try it for yourself.At Gringos have taken traditional mexican cuisine to the next level by refining the flavours and textures to create something very special indeed. Every dish we create is made with the freshest of ingredients and the majority of goods would be sourced locally by our chefs to ensure you the quality.All Gringos restaurants offer coffees and snacks throughout the day with takeaway options available from our lunch menu including an array of packaged torta sandwiches and wraps made fresh in house everyday.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brill take away”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Had a carry out on sat nite. Brilliant service, meals were perfect plenty to eat, very tasty ..highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank bigbart1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    12
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab food & service ”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Great family dinner out - best ribs & chicken in town! Churros also fantastic. Friendly atmosphere & great service - highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Barratts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot stuff”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you like Mexican food, this is the place for you but, be warned, don't order the fajitas with more than one chilli sign. One of our party actually cleared the restaurant with the fumes! We all enjoyed our meals. Food is delicious, big helpings and the waiter is a star. Bring your own wine, so good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodyFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“4th visit as good as ever”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I honestly don't know how anyone could complain about gringos, I have been 4 times now and have never had a single complaint (and I know my food!).
The portions are generous and the food always hot and very tasty indeed, helpfully the menu now has a "heat bar" so you can select the level of chilli appropriate to your own taste. Personally I like the "hot" but be warned, this is HOT, don't go asking for extra spice and then complain, like some do, that it is too hot for you, this is Mexican food, it is meant to be spicy!
The combo starter is great, and enough even to share among 4 if you are being thrifty, while the fajitas are a generous mound of meat and peppers, the recently added burger selection also come with very thick patties, enough to satifsy any appetite.
If you have time, try the devilled chocolate fondant. I say if you have time, as this is cooked freshly to order, so takes up to 20 minutes from order to plate, but it is so worth the wait, I am not generally a fan of desserts, but this is one I will be back for.
Thanks again to all the friendly and helpful staff at Gringos, keep up the good work, I shall def be back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love Gringos”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had the best meal ever in Gringos in Bangor,it was hot fantastic food,staff very friendly,and gr8 value 4 money, and even better buy 1 main and get 1 main free on Sundays,also B,Y,O AND that is always good,we certainly will be back,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringos also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing