We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice For A Spare Rib Addict”
Review of Makhulu 5 - CLOSED

Makhulu 5
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice For A Spare Rib Addict”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Had dinner in Makhulu , Bangor Co. Down.
We have been a few times and we have the platter for £19.95, which is a starter for 4 people, but the 3 of have it as a main course. There is more than enough to eat and to take some home as a snack for later! The chickrn and ribs are heavenly. ..and for us its a great place for a treat at the weekend. Decor is a bit blah and the lighting is terrible! Couls be really good if a few things were improved. Try the beef jerky or Biltong as they call it. Its great value if you take a bag away with you compared to tbe price in the shops.

Helpful?
Thank Lookinaroundtheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    56
    39
    27
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great evening”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we went to makhula 5 for an evening meal it was brilliant food excellent service was excellent will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lollipop2013122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One (one!) vegetarian option!?”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Laughable in this day and age. It was 'ok' as veggie burgers go but i didn't want a burger, i wanted pasta or a fajita but apparently it's 'not possible' to serve these simply without the meat. Nuts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joy_joy_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Forgwt this place!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went here tonight... The ribs were cold and the main course was tasteless!!!!..

The service was friendly... But we just felt that this place was a sinking ship back to Africa!!

The inside really needs a face left..

Thank god we had an early bird ... Less to pay..

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went in for a late lunch with my friend and decided to get off the deal menu, 3 courses for 10.95. Starters were ok. My friend ordered garlic cubes with her order and I ordered garlic chips with mine. When our mains came out there was no garlic butter over anything, so we asked for garlic butter, which turned out to be just butter and as I had already poured it over my chips it had to be taken away. When the next portion of 'garlic' chips came out, again it was just butter. And it was the same for my friend's 'garlic' cubes. When we complained for the second time to a different waitress, she just lifted our plates without even a sorry and when she came back to us, she proceeded to argue about how they were garlic and that we were wrong, so we asked to speak to the manager. But instead of a manager coming out to sort out the problem, she sent yet another waitress to fix things, and argued again about how we were wrong. We were avoided for most of our visit, only getting attention when we complained that our food wasn't up to standard and they really didn't seem that bothered that we weren't happy. Will not be back as it is a joke of a restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RobynEllaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makhulu 5 also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing