We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have been missing out on a gem of a cafe in Bangor!!”
Review of Pauline's Coffee House - CLOSED

Pauline's Coffee House
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I have been missing out on a gem of a cafe in Bangor!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a lovely cafe and Pauline is a really friendly person. A1 experience.
Today I had her lemon meringue pie which is the best I have tasted in a long long time.
I'm now going to have to become a regular as there were so many homemade treats on offer it'll take me a while to go through them all! It'll be an apple & cinnamon scone next time I think.
I'm just sorry I haven't known about it before and this will now be a regular port of call.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“All homebaked!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stopped off for a coffee and a scone - delightful spot but a bit hard for a stranger to find even though it is on the main road! Pauline not only bakes and cooks but has time to come out of the kitchen to speak to and welcome her customers. Loads of magazines to read - if you have time! "Top-ups" much appreciated. The lunch menu looked very tempting so will be back another day! The tray bakes looked the same :-) and all made on the premises. Definitely worth a visit and a return visit!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OAP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co. Down
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Long established cafe on Bangor's Hamilton Road very ajacent to Town centre and really worth while seeking out. One of very few cafe's around to-day where you are offered a "top-up" when you finish your tea or coffee. Pauline, chef/owner is one of life's gems, she bakes and cooks all her own menu on the premises, not content with being in the kitchen she is equally at home chatting to her very many repeat customers out at the tables.Front of house is Lindy, another of life's jems, what a team they make.Worth the visit to meet them both alone, not to mention the mouthwatering selection of cakes scones and pies all home baked. Coffee superb. Also serves great breakfasts and lunches.
A lovely change to the blandness of the now prolific coffee house chains that dominate our town centres.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All I can say is beautiful!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This wee hidden gem on bangors Hamilton road, is an absolute delight, everything home made, fresh and easy on the purse strings. I have been going here for a good few years now and have tried almost all Pauline's menu, just delicious! If its not on the menu just ask, she might just be able to rustle it up for you!
A must when you go are her cinnamon and apple scones yum yum yum
Lovely food, lovely staff in a very relaxing atmosphere!
A must when you go to bangor!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Varm-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I love my coffee shops and have been here a few times now. Pauline's is small, quaint, and perfect for a quiet coffee. The service is excellent and quality of the tasty treats is second to none.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pauline's Coffee House also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing