We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service bad food”
Review of Bryansburn Inn

Bryansburn Inn
Ranked #11 of 160 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bad service bad food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

never done one of these before but after our bad experience we decided we need to; have lived in bangor for years and heard the bryansburn had been taken over again, thought we would try the food, there were ten of us out for a celebatory meal 2 out of the ten said they had an ok meal and those 2 both had the soup. the rest were below average and noone enjoyed their meal or the experience overall, including myself, i ordered a very well done steak, i got a very pink steak which im sure is easy to do and was fair enough so the same meat was taken away and cooked further but returned to me with hair in it... by this stage i was understandably put off of my steak so just ate my chips (which were sperate) and the steak remained untouched, when we told the staff that the steak was untouched and the reasons why we were told by a very patronising man who we assume is the manager that we had to pay for it and told that it was because of the bryansburn policy even though the whole bill in total came to a large amount with there being ten of us so its not like they hadnt made their money out of us. as far as i was aware if you are unhappy with a meal and havnt eaten it you dont have to pay for it. the service really was a joke all round, none of the food was good and i wouldnt recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank xflickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    78
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Family Meal”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Went for a meal yesterday evening for an extended family meal (there were 9 of us). We ordered meals from both the normal menu and Christmas menu. The food was superb with plenty of vegetables between us. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

There is a wide choice of meals on the main menu along with kids meals.

We were situated in the main bar area rather than the restaurant which made for a relaxed atmosphere

Will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murphs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband & i took friends for a meal after being told that Carmichaels had taken charge again. The meal was very disappointing for the price not one vegatable on the plate only a small bit of salad which was not what you expect with pork with cheese sauce & prawns!! When we went years ago they served Roast potatoes, mash, cauliflower & carrots what a change we will not be back we paid £100 for a disappointing night we would have complained but we were treating our friends & didnt want to cause embarrassment.

G McKee

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GG44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to the bryansburn during a Northern Irish trip down memory lane, great menu choice, fantastic cod and chips...perfect portion size and the chefs should be commended for the awesome home made chips!! Very satisfying experience we will be back!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JediTrek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Back on Track with Keith & Ian”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Thankfully back to being an excellent restaurant/bar now under the professional care of the Carmichael family.
The meals are very good and served quickly and the staff are very attentive.
There is a large car park which if very convenient.
I still find the bar a bit 'dark' to the rear but sit near the windows for a great view while dining or having a drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryansburn Inn also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Bryansburn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing