We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a two night stay in the Clandeboye Lodge and it was excellent in every way, We stayed in a superior room with one evening meal. The resident's menu was very good value and the beef on the main course was superb. The helpings were generous and the quality of food excellent, The house red was superb value for a house wine.
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and very helpful, and also very warm.

Coffee in the rooms is gorgeous and an espresso machine as well is very pleasant. It is quiet at night and the rooms and beds are very comfortable.
We will return!! and we will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We had room 320 a superior room, right at the end of a corridor so v quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    153
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
228
420
29
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is fab!! Staff always so friendly and willing to help!! Have stayed here, eaten in restaurant and attended a few functions here now and it just keeps getting better and better!!!! We were at a christmas party night last night and had a ball!!! The function suite was stunning, food was outstanding, entertainment was fab, staff were great craic and looked after our party soooo well!!! Will be back very soon!!!! Thankyou to all at the Clandeboye Lodge.....amazing as always!!!! X

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxhappyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holywood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went to the hotel with a group of girls and what a terrific night we had the food was gorgeous, and although we had a large table everyone's food was out at the same time. The staff were amazing and the service was fantastic definitely the best food and service ive had. I highly recommend this hotel definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieb_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Fantastic hotel, great setting, beautiful rooms – staff can not be more helpful. I came across for business and was delighted to have made such a great choice. The chap at breakfast was a star - I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeAnt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had occasion to attend an evening reception at this hotel and had an overnight stay.. Hotel surroundings were lovely and the staff very friendly. We chose to dine in their restaurant before attending the evening reception. We found our meal to be very poor in quality not what you would expect in a hotel of this calibre. we asked for an alarm call the next morning and sadly we remain waiting on it. Showers the next morning were cold, and all guests that morning at breakfast had the same complaint. There was also an incident with a fire alarm going off several times which caused a lot of concern and sleepless night. sadly hotel staff failed to communicate with its guests and on trying to contact reception proved futile as there was no answer. Leaving quests wondering was it safe to return to bed or should we be evacuating. All in all a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: None as I don't plan to return. Management failed to respond to complaints not a good sign when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastRelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed just one night on a business trip. Room very nice and facilities good. Highlight of stay was the friendliness of the staff and the breakfast,an Ulster fry that wasn't a heaped pile of food on the plate. Definitely recommend to other travellers as a great start to a busy day.

Room Tip: Ground floor room very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonopase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The three nights for two offer is excellent value. My wife and I have used it several times visiting family in Belfast and County Down. There is nothing 'starchy' about this hotel; the staff are friendly without being familiar and it is easy to feel at home. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent and there is a lovely country smell when you step out in the morning (there is a milking parlour almost next door). We love it - a real taste of Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
975 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,701 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing