We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay👍” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay👍”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having stayed at the Clandeboye before we knew that we would not be disappointed but we were pleasantly surprised by the works carried out here and also with the new Coq & Bull restaurant which I would highly recommend. The overall experience comes highly recommended with top class accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbaker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    149
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
216
407
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, N Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Many old timers like me still refer to The Clandeboye Lodge as The George (sorry current owners) though the hotel has come a long way in the intervening years. We did not stay overnight so this review is only for the newly refurbished Coq & Bull restaurant, however if the rest of the hotel is up to the same standard, as it would appear from most of the reviews, then I don't see the hotel having anything to worry about.
Our meal was an 80th birthday party for my Mum so there were family from home and further afield, 18 of us in total. The whole night went very smoothly from start to finish. The staff are a credit to the hotel and couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Any requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently and everyone had a great time with no prolonged waits or messed up orders - not bad given the size of our group. Everyone was impressed by the quality of the food and between us I think we managed to cover most of the menu choices. A few little swaps took place as some of us wanted to try dishes we hadn't ordered with a few comments like 'I wish I'd ordered that instead' resulting, however no one was disappointed with any of the food.
All in all we had a great night and I have no hesitation in highly recommending the Coq & Bull

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cranley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Clandeboye Lodge Hotel in February 2014 and had dinner in the Coq & Bull restaurant. The food and service was excellent and we spent a very relaxing evening in the lovely surroundings looked after by very attentive staff before retiring to our luxurious suite.Would highly recommend a stay in this lovely hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We recently stayed overnight at Clandeboye Lodge Hotel and had dinner in the new restaurant Coq & Bull. The staff and service were exceptional and the food was amazing!! Great value all round. We are getting married here next year so wanted to check it all out as we will be having alot of our guests coming from England. We were pleased with the rooms as they were spacious, clean, warm and comfortable. The hotel and restaurant are worth visiting!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I was here on business opening our screwfix stores and what amazing service I recieved, I stayed there for 6 nights and the welcome I recieved was priceless .. the food is devine and the rooms are lush I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed a night at Clandeboye Lodge at the end of January 2014 for my boyfriend's birthday, booking a couples weekend deal. Had a fantastic time from the moment we arrived- the hotel is lovely (clean, modern and very comfortable), staff were brilliant and happy to help with anything. We stayed in a suite- I would certainly say this is worth the bit extra as the room was fantastic, very spacious, everything you could need in there, large TV and stunning bathroom (could also hire DVDs which thought was a great extra). We had dinner and breakfast the next morning and both meals were delicious, pleasantly surprised at the quality of food considering we were there for the accommodation. All in all we had a great weekend and would definitely return again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here overnight after attending a wedding close by.
The hotel looks really nice and is in a great location. Our bedroom was on the ground floor, room 106. We never noticed any noise from the hotel. The bedroom was large enough, seemed pretty modern and had everything that you would need. Large tv, tea/coffee making, iron/ironing board. It was also very clean.

For me the bed was far too hard, I suffer from osteoarthritis and I really was suffering the next morning because of the bed. To my surprise my wife also complained about the bed being too hard and effecting her back, and she doesn't have any back problems.

Breakfast was really nice with a choice of fruit juices, cereals and hot food.

It is a lovely hotel, it was just spoilt by the bed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne and Davi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many small hotels in the Greater Belfast area but the Clandeboye Lodge - with its cosy and comfortable ambiance, contemporary design and exceptional service levels - is amongst those privileged to be recognised by both independent travellers and the AA as one of Northern Ireland’s top 4* hotels. Whatever your reason to stay, you can look forward to a well-deserved break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing