We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
1 review
“SQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

You need to taste the lows to savour the highs. C&B was certainly a high point in my dinning experience. The ambience had a warm buzz. The service was above and beyond, they must be telepathic in fact. Most importantly the food, delicious. Will I go back?.. I feel myself getting larger in waist and taste already

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SQ3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    149
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
216
407
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed in an executive double for one night as a treat. The room was spacious with a lovely bay window looking onto the surrounding estate greenery. We had a beautiful meal in the hotel restaurant and the service was perfect, as was the room itself with stunning windows overlooking the gardens. We enjoyed a relaxed evening in the bar beside the fire and ended the trip with a lovely cooked breakfast in bed. I will definitely be returning to stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a good welcome on arrival and check in was efficient. Our room looked out over the estate and was pleasant. A large bed (two pushed together). The bathroom is small but had everything we needed. The lobby and sunroom were very pleasant to sit in and we had a complimentary hot port as part of our welcome which we enjoyed. Dinner was good, a little spoiled due to the proximity of the adjoining tables, which offered no privacy at all. Breakfast was excellent, but again we were seated very close to other guests. We had a problem with the internet and despite there being four possible routers to connect to none of these worked. We reported this to reception twice and were told that it would be reset and working shortly. Despite this it did not work for the entire duration of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GILL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a great dining experience. The food was superb, the Coq & Bull au vin was succulent and served with local potatoes which is always a plus! The dessert was the highlight - the white chocolate cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding were both favourites. The brasserie exudes style and ambience and most importantly the seating was comfortable (I particularly loved the armchairs). The staff were courteous and efficient, knowing what dish belonged to who. This is a must visit restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinnamon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just celebrated my wife's 60th birthday at the Clandeboye Lodge. We had over 80 friends and family in their upstairs event room. The staff, led on the night by Gia, were efficient and professional. The food was amazing and the whole evening went without a hitch. Many of our guests spent the night in the hotel and enjoyed a good nights rest and a great breakfast.
Special thanks to Ian for the detailed planning and for making the event seem so simple to arrange....which I know it wasn't.
Thanks to all the staff on the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejaydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

A great dining experience with a wide-ranging menu. We were a large party and everybody was delighted with their meals. The lamb was delicious and the white chocolate cheesecake was amazing. Also a plus, the staff was extremely pleasant, which meant dining in the lovely surroundings was particularly enjoyable. No hesitation in recommending the Coq & Bull!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneHend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room and facilities were excellent. The staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast menu had very wide variety. Our one and only complaint is that the seating arrangement in the restaurant had the tables too close together.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOPE_CAT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many small hotels in the Greater Belfast area but the Clandeboye Lodge - with its cosy and comfortable ambiance, contemporary design and exceptional service levels - is amongst those privileged to be recognised by both independent travellers and the AA as one of Northern Ireland’s top 4* hotels. Whatever your reason to stay, you can look forward to a well-deserved break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing