We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely set country house hotel but very lively”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nicely set country house hotel but very lively”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is very nicely set in extensive grounds and could provide for a quiet stay, However, on entering a very pleasant lobby we were greeted by loud rock music which for my taste was out of place. It appears it is the in-place for the younger local set and perhaps ideal for wedding receptions.
The rooms were well appointed and pleasant but, despite the window being closed, I had to swat mosquito - like flies 3 times in the first 30 minutes. I pointed this out to one of the staff but there was no suggestion of changing rooms.
The restaurant was fine and the food very good, with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    152
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
223
418
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We held our wedding here on the 1st May and everything was perfect. The hotel staff go above & beyond to ensure you have everything you need. We had a few changes last minute which were handled really well and nothing was any hassle to the staff on the day or while we were planning. The rooms are also great, I stayed the night before with my family and ate in the restaurant which was lovely. Would recommend the clandeboye lodge to anyone, especially for events :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Review of the Coq and Bull Restaurant
The setting and decor of this restaurant are excellent. Very welcoming, well-trained staff made every effort to make our visit memorable on a Friday evening.
However, the food did not live up to the description on the menu as it was so lacking in flavour. More attention to seasoning and taste is required to ensure that the food meets the expectations of the diner. Descriptions and presentation are not what one remembers - how the food tastes is what is memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is such a fantastic hotel based in stunning woodland and such a peaceful place for a very relaxing break - while there's no spa on site the fabulous day spa at black rock golf club across the road is well worth a visit. The hotel restaurant is delicious and their movie night in room service is well worth the money add this to being able to chill by the fire with a drink and you've ticked all my boxes

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently attended a wedding reception at Clandeboye and was very satisfied with the standard of service and quality of food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will return for an evening meal some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The main thing that set this hotel apart from other hotels of this class is the staff, they are all so efficient and friendly which makes for the most relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Did not try the pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

my son, wife and i stayed at the Clandeboyle over the May bank holiday weekend. Beyond the cleanliness of the hotel, the room size and wide menu selection at the restaurant, the hospitality of the hotel employees was the best i have experienced in Europe.

Every single member of staff that we met went above and beyond ensuring my son, wife and i were completely comfortable throughout our stay. Every meal we were offered a choice of freshly prepared food for our 10month old (who by the way loved the food as well as the attention). Without a doubt, had the hotel employees simply been like most other hotel staff, then our stay would have still been good, but not something to stand out.

The menu for both restaurant and room service was far greater than most big hotel chains, and the quality was always of a high standard. We stayed in a standard room, and there was plenty of walking around space after we set up a travel cot, high-chair (both provided by the hotel at last minute notice) and our 2 large suitcases.

a huge recommendation and a definite re-visit for us in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mik1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing