We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel fabulous food and brilliant staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
holywood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel fabulous food and brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as we were at a friends wedding. Staff were brilliant from reception and the restaurant staff were excellent wen we where ther the next day. The rooms were lovely and tge beds so comfortable couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieb_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    149
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
216
407
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently went to this restaurant for dinner and found it to be an enjoyable experience! the setting of the place is beautiful and made my partner and I feel very relaxed. The staff were all lovely to speak to and very smiley. The minute we arrived we didn't have to wait long to be seated and the food was exquisite!! We did not have to wait long on this either. Overall, it
was a delightful experience and we will be back!! would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amybuchanan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from a three day break at the Clandeboye. From start to finish we were treated superbly from all the staff.
The room was kept immaculate and the girls always had a lovely smile in the morning.
My family came to visit and we had dinner in the restaurant. There was nothing that was too much bother for the staff. My daughter made a request for supper for her baby and the chef very willingly (there were a lot of other people in the restaurant that night) attended to her request which was very much appreciated.
We were very well looked after, the receptionists were always smiling and welcomed us every time we came into the hotel.
We will definitely return as it has a 'home from home' atmosphere and we had a lovely relaxing break.
Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just home after a relaxing 2 night stay. Lovely location, style and atmosphere, all staff friendly and welcoming. The 'Executive' rooms are spacious and bright with coffee machine etc, beds are huge and very comfortable. There are two sorts of 'Executive' room though- mine had two windows and was bigger with a better view than the other type although it was lovely also. Restaurant and food excellent. Just what we needed- thanks to all @ Clandeboye Lodge.

Room Tip: Top floor looking out over the trees, lawn and patio -beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 789AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for a weekend break at the end of May and were very impressed. The hotel itself is impressive and the staff made us feel very welcome and ensured we had a relaxing time.The suite we had was lovely.The new restaurant offers a good choice of menu and the food was first class. Although set in the countryside it is within easy driving distance from Belfast. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I occasionally like to eat breakfast in hotels in the vicinity. We have gone to the Clandeboye Lodge twice. We were made to wait for a table on the first occasion even with plenty if empty tables. On our 2nd visit we were told they could not serve us breakfast as they were 'fully booked'. The restaurant was empty! We will not be back. Don't dare try to eat breakfast there if you are not a restaurant! It's not like you are trying to get it free. Very disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is very nicely set in extensive grounds and could provide for a quiet stay, However, on entering a very pleasant lobby we were greeted by loud rock music which for my taste was out of place. It appears it is the in-place for the younger local set and perhaps ideal for wedding receptions.
The rooms were well appointed and pleasant but, despite the window being closed, I had to swat mosquito - like flies 3 times in the first 30 minutes. I pointed this out to one of the staff but there was no suggestion of changing rooms.
The restaurant was fine and the food very good, with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many small hotels in the Greater Belfast area but the Clandeboye Lodge - with its cosy and comfortable ambiance, contemporary design and exceptional service levels - is amongst those privileged to be recognised by both independent travellers and the AA as one of Northern Ireland’s top 4* hotels. Whatever your reason to stay, you can look forward to a well-deserved break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing