We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2010

It is hard to understand why anyone could find fault with this hotel.We arrived early in the morning having travelled overnight on the Liverpool ferry and were greeted with a welcoming cup of coffee.During our three day stay everything was immaculate. Food in the restaurant was good and beautifully served. Heaters in the bedroom warmed the room very quickly so we can turn them off when the room is not in use. In the present climate when everyone has to tighten their belts the management must be applauded for trying to eliminate waste. A well managed hotel with excellent staff and a friendly atmosphere. 4*

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2010

I had not been back to this hotel in 2 years and was thrilled to discover that it was as good as ever. Excellent food, lovely service, comfortable surroundings and great internet! It was like coming back home to family. I particularly enjoyed the complimentary Nespresso machine coffee and the cafetieres in the executive rooms after being ripped off to the tune of 4 Euros per miniscule cup in another European hotel. No such stunts here - just a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadwarriorLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This hotel gives me a sense of comfort.

The rooms are clean and well furnished.
The mattrass, a box spring, is not my favorite, but that is my opinion of box springs in general.
The service is extremely friendly and operates very professional in the background.
The location of this resort is very quite and quite close to an 18 hole golf court.
Walking in this environment is really relaxing and I heavily recommend this.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buyer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Got the kids farmed out to share a surprise St Valentine's eve with my wife. I chose the Clandeboye Lodge, Bangor, Co. Down. Nothing went wrong!! All expectations were met. We had a superb dinner on Saturday evening and breakfast in bed on Sunday morning after a great nights sleep in an amazing bed.

Well done to every member of the team at C Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar70Comber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

MY wife stayed here last week and urged me to come online and write a review. She said the only enjoyable part of her stay was the reception, lovely girl, very welcoming, explained everything throughly.

She went to her room and it was cold. The water in her room was cold, and her room smelt like paint. She went for a meal in the restuarant and said there was food all over the floor, the staff where busy gossiping of which she could recite the details (not very professional lets say), the food was cold and the cutlery was dirty.

I too have the unfortunate pleasure of staying there in a few weeks for bussiness. Lets hope for a better stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidW12London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDDCLH, Owner at Clandeboye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Dear David,

Thank you for your recent review.
Your passion to reply on behalf of your wife's recent stay allows us to continuously review our standards. I would be very grateful though if you could contact me personally by e-mail
on info@clandeboyelodgehotel.co.uk with dates of your wife's stay and the name under which the booking was made, so that I can investigate her unfortunate experience.
Perhaps you can also advise me of the dates when you are scheduled to stay at the Clandeboye Lodge.

Yours sincerely,

Pim Dalm
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

A marvellous well run hotel with excellent staff.
From the moment we arrived to the time we left the members of staff could not do enough for us. The meals in the restaurant and the function were superb and catered for all the members of my family.
The premises are spotless,well maintained and we appreciated the warm welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My daughter's school formal was held here recently and from beginning to end they treated the young people quite shabbily.

For £28.75 per head one might reasonably expect an edible meal, not a reheated something from Iceland's bargain range. A Bellini cocktail isn't usually a glass of tepid sparkling wine with powdered orange juice. The menu appears to offer a choice of dishes and indeed it does if you consider that everyone having to choose the same option from each course is a choice.

They had to use the photographer promoted by the hotel who charged up front for the photographs (not mentioned by the hotel at any time prior to the night) and left before everyone had a picture taken, which was a shade disappointing.

The money paid for the dismal event was the going rate, not cut price, and if the hotel doesn't like school formals it shouldn't take the bookings. This hotel might treat adults well, but it has a lot to learn about teenagers. I don't think they'll get too many wedding bookings from the young people who attended this big night.

Ripping off youngsters is pretty damned low.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank mspolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,046 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £97 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing