We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding venue but serving staff let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Recently attended a wedding function here, and it really is a gorgeous location. The grounds are fantastic for photos (provided you get good weather, of course), the meal and buffet during the evening reception were excellent, and everything was very well organised. The one let-down was that, during the meal, the serving staff were curt and unnecessarily defensive. They made a few mistakes with pre-orders and so on, and when we queried these, the waitresses argued that they had got it right and that we were wrong. Basically, we just got the impression that they were all in a bad mood for some reason, which isn't exactly professional and is particularly noticeable at a wedding. Apart from that, the day went very well with the other staff proving to be friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastVolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDDCLH, General Manager at Clandeboye Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments with reference to a recent wedding reception you attended at the Clandeboye Lodge Hotel. Contrary to most hotels, we offer our wedding guests - irregardless of event size - a choice menu. Occasionally, there are discrepancies between the pre-orders received and guests' menu choice expectations on the day. I regret that on this occassion, you felt that our food service waitresses did not meet handle the situation in a courteous and positive manner. Based on internal guest satisfaction records and indeed other Trip Advisor reviews, we have built a strong reputation for friendly and efficient employees, aiming to provide our guests with a wonderful experience whilst staying at the Clandeboye Lodge. In order to deal with your comments, I would be very grateful if you could let me know which wedding you attended. You can reach me on ians@clandeboyelodge.co.uk. With many thank in advance. Ian Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

Had a lovely stay in Cladeboyne lodge, never stayed up North before and the hotel staff couldnt have been nicer. I asked for an upgrade if it was available as it was our wedding anniversary and they most graciously obliged us.
Will definately stay here again when we go back to Belfast.
Thank you everyone for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiek1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed for a weekend break and in that time the wife took sick and the staff sorted it out for me. The hotel was nice and quited and i didn't here the other guests at night, the food was good. The hotel is well placed for driving the ards peninsula i cant say a bad thing about the hotel, and we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyroneCookstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had a very relaxing break. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel was very clean. Room was excellent with great big bed!! Food 1st class quality. Intend to return for another break and have recommended the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowdropB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We got a fantastic offer for 2 nights and one evening meal, the staff were very friendly and treated us like regulars- which we found very welcoming. The meal was great, try the cranachan for desert- i was only disappointed i had enjoyed the other two courses that much i didnt have room to finish the tasty rasberry cranachan.. We spent the day in Bangor which is a fantastic town and even had a wee trip into Newtownards. over all a truly enjoyable week end.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We chose this hotel from the internet, because of its location and special off it was running during April. We booked for the 3 night package Wed to Sat along with another couple who had never been to NI before. Right from our arrival at reception we were impressed. The service, the food and the rooms were fantastic. We stayed in the executive rooms on the top floor as part of the deal, so cannot comment on other rooms. The executive rooms are large, well equiped and clean. All the staff gave the impression they enjoyed their work and were always polite and friendly. Nothing was too much bother. I think there is no doubt that we will be using this hotel again for our base for our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveingoodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

stayed here with a group of friends for a friends wedding at the estate. the hotel was lovely, clean, the rooms are nice, friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,024 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,759 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £99 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing