We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Bangor welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelleven Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shelleven Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real Bangor welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was our first time in Northern Ireland and we had no idea where to stay. We chose Shelleven and we were not disappointed, everything from the warm welcome to the fantastic breakfasts and clean and homely rooms were what we would expect. We found the host and hostess to be very welcoming and informative about the area. We would certainly return here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    21
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
49
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

we enjoyed a fabulous weekend ,the welcome and hospitality we received from Mary and Philip was brilliantand nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were superb and always served with a smile. Philip was always at hand to give advice and added details regarding the historyof the area which helped bring our trips to life. If we return to Bangor then we will always return to this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I don't know if she was being just so cold that day but the owner(wife) was very cold when we got there. And make matters worse, she said we had to pay 10 pounds extra for the room because their prices on the web was not right, of course we refused! But you had to look at her face, what a face to make to the customer. we had no problem with her husband, god I was go glad that he was the one who was serving the breakfast!!!
We were spending our well-earned money and I didn't expect that kind of snooty behaviour from B&B owner(She is running serive industry!!! for godsake). There are better quality and better located B&Bs( a lot of them) nearby, so don't let this kind of thing happen to you on your well deserved holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed in Shelleven House as part of my work. I have to say finding fault is a hard thing to do. The breakfasts were excellent and with a wide variety. The bed was also very comfortable and I had one of the best nights sleeps Ive had in years!!!. Mary and Phillip are welcoming and also didnt mind my late night arrivals when I finished work late or my early starts...very accomodating. If you want to stay somewhere clean, comfortable and affordable with an excellent breakfast then stay here!! Well Done

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balcasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Staying at Shelleven House enabled us to take the train into Belfast rather than trying to drive to and around the city. We loved our very well kept place and enjoyed the very well kept room and ensuite we occupied. Our breakfasts were excellent, with a variety of well prepared choices available. We also enjoyed the reception we received very much.

A great choice for us on our Irish adventure!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Trip was a combination of business / leisure. The room was excellent in all respects, spotless and a very comfortable bed. We had a nice welcome and the room that we had was very quiet. The breakfasts were superb especially the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Location was a short walk from the town with pleasant coastal walks nearby. Could not fault anything and if we have the opportunity to come to Bangor again will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Shelleven is an absolute gem in the heart of Bangor. We stayed for 1 night and choose Bangor for proximity to Belfast, 30 min drive away. The house is just beautiful, cozy and immaculate with all the upgrades you would expect from a top notch B&B. Mary & Philip are a wonderful warm welcoming couple with lots of local knowledge. Our huge room was sea facing, complete with gorgeous bay windows and a large pristine on suite bathroom. Breakfast was the best I had during my week long trip to Ireland, included in my fry was Clonakilty pudding (my fav!) served up by Philip in the spacious dining room. Our only issue was that we were only there for 1 night, I wished it was longer. Bangor itself is a lovely town; I knew nothing about it aside from proximity to Belfast so was very pleasantly surprised. The harbor area is stunning and we had an amazing dinner at The Jamaica Inn, a delightful 15-20 min coastal walk away from the house. I really can’t wait to go back some day and spend a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
5.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelleven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelleven Guest House

Property: Shelleven Guest House
Address: 61 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelleven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shelleven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelleven Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing