We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shelleven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We just stayed for three nights at Shellevenhouse house, we booked the sea view room which was beautiful. We enjoyed our stay in Bangor great location and the train system into Belfast is wonderful. Mary and Phillip are wonderful hosts, their breakfasts are the best. Mary makes the best cheese omelettes. So if you are want a great bed and breakfast please stay here,we really enjoyed the experience and I know you will to.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    23
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
55
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed two nights at the Shelleven Guest House and had an overall very good experience. The owners are very friendly and very helpful. The level of service is truly recommendable.
My room - not too big but really well kept - was unfortunatly a bit cold - the heat was just turned on when I arrived and it took some time to warm up and because the following day was quite cool outside it was about the same again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here about a year ago as a family with two children. Very comfortable and clean bedroom and bathroom. Brilliant breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Being disabled, I have more demands than an average traveler. I was impressed by the trouble taken in this hotel to provide me with a shower chair for the shower of my ground floor room which even had grab handles! It was clean, comfortable and the cooking was excellent. Both my travelling companions were delighted with the quality of their very tasty & generous 'Ulster Fries' for breakfast, while I enjoyed the range of cereals, fresh juice & yogurt. Coffee Tea & toast were supplied so generously it would keep even the hungriest & greediest people happy. This was my first visit to N.Ireland & the friendly, helpful owners of this hotel gave me the best first impression I could have hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

we stayed 4 nights and the owners were so hospitable and friendly, very helpful as on our last day our flight was not until evening but let us use lounge and keep luggage until departure. Breakfast was excellent and the room was very clean and spacious (we did have the disabled room) we hope that if we can return to Bangor to be able to stay again

Room Tip: use taxi service as recommended by owners very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fe4rmanagh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Thank you so much we enjoyed our stay with you both. Beautiful room spacious clean and great view. You made us feel right at home and we thoroughly enjoyed our Breakfast . If we are up that way again we will definitely be staying
Thanks again Pat & Paul

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat20122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was our first time in Northern Ireland and we had no idea where to stay. We chose Shelleven and we were not disappointed, everything from the warm welcome to the fantastic breakfasts and clean and homely rooms were what we would expect. We found the host and hostess to be very welcoming and informative about the area. We would certainly return here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
5.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelleven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelleven Guest House

Property: Shelleven Guest House
Address: 61 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelleven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Shelleven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelleven Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing