We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best roast beef in bangor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donegans

Donegans
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bangor
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best roast beef in bangor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

on arrival you are warmly greeted by either lynne, brenda or ivan. no booking sheet/book. after a friendly chat you are shown to a table. a comprehensive and varied menu is offered and any food allergies addressed. the food which is prepared by paul gray and his team is beautifully cooked and presented and portions are generous . the slow roast beef is to die for. you would hardly need a knife it is so tender. steaks are well recommended and the staff go out of their way to ensure an unforgetable dining experience. the place is olde world with old antiques and artefacts.
a must visit restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BangorBeertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    63
    7
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Had a busy day shopping, and realised about 3.30pm we hadn't had any lunch. Discovered a lot of pub/restaurants had stopped serving, so decided to try Donegans, WOW!!! from the minute we walked in through the door we were greeted by smiling enthusiastic staff. Having ordered from the extensive menu, we only had a short wait until our meal arrived, and it was obvious that it had been cooked to order and not just been kept warm from earlier. Both our choices were excellent, my partner had the Chilli chicken with prawns, and I had one of their famous burgers, both served with a choice of sides, we both had the chunky chips, which were great. Portion size was very generous, and I would have no hesitation recommending Donegans to anyone. Will most certainly be back again soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food great portions great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Little bit of a hidden treasure but awesome food & def come hungry. Service is great from staff & all very attentive

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurelvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs a make over”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Formerly McElhills restaurant, Donegans managed to get a full liquour license some years back and now trades as a pub. Good points - nice beer garden. That's it. Gents toilet is no bigger than broom closet, more than 2 guys in here and it is seriously crowded. Staff are probably the most surly and unwelcoming I have ever experienced - I have yet to see any of them smile or engage in a conversation with any customer.
If you are visiting Bangor and want a friendly welcome, a decent pint and a great atmosphere, do yourself a favour and walk the extra 4 metres to the ever excellent Jenny Watts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best food in North Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Excellent for quality & quantity, you will never leave hungry or unsatisfied with any dish or service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rab2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donegans also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Donegans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing