We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to Corin. Fabulous night out at Bangor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corin on Mainstreet - CLOSED

Corin on Mainstreet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Return to Corin. Fabulous night out at Bangor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Four of us returned to this top class restaurant on thursday 8th.
Greeted warmly and shown to our pre booked table.
Our meals were beautifully prepared and served with a smile .
The quality of all the courses was excellent and the wine and drinks superb.
We were relaxed and the ambiance refreshing as other guests soon filled the place .
Being able to sit all night was a big plus and we were reluctant to bring our evening to a close.
Thanks to all the lovely staff for a wonderful dining experience once more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john55ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    48
    31
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Food was well presented and delicious. Drink was reasonably priced , decor was great and very comfortable along with efficient and friendly staff a great nights dining was had by all our company - already booked to go back !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billybonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't fault a thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Great meal on Friday night. Had to book mid June, and first Friday we could get was 2nd August. Worried it wouldn't live up to reviews and our expectations but it did and some!
My wife is a veggie and raved about her choices and my choices were equally impressive.
Would highly recommend and will return. Well done to all involved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suftum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just been back for the second time and it just gets better ! The owner and chef is passionate about his resrautant and ensuring that his guests have a great experience. the staff are well trained and very pleasant and helpful, the food was fantastic, as good as we have had anywhere and at a reasonable price. The wine list is also good value too. The restaurant is small and some might find you are too close to other diners, all as I can say is it is what it is, so embrace it, have some fun, and who knows you might even make new friends ! Give Corin a go but do book well in advance if it's for a special occasion or set date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“To be honest...disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having waited a month for our booking I was really looking forward to the evening at Corin . Having read the comments here I was disappointed.
The restaurant is very difficult to find. The name of the restaurant is camouflaged within the window decor so not easy to see.
We arrived for our 7.30 booking, the restaurant is small and our table was beside a large pillar which dominates the middle of the restaurant.
We ordered a drink, I asked for a Pimms and diet lemonade, the waitress replied they had a choice of Gordons or Tanqueray , i explained that it was not a gin so she went to the bar and returned to say they did have pimms but only with cocoa cola or lemonade.
The same waitress then arrived with the bread basket and offered us sundried tomato bread or 'there are only a few bits of asparagus and Parmesan bread left', as it was the early start of the evening we were surprised that this was the last two pieces.
We looked at the Menu, £24,95 for two courses was good value for money and the wine list had a decent Sauv Blanc for £10.00. The menu was limited but with a varied choice of fish, meat and vegetarian. The waitress explained the evening specials and left us to make our choice.
The waitress then returned to inform us that the John Dory was replaced with Brill and the Brie cheese on a dish was changed to a blue cheese.We both decided on the lobster and gnocchi starter (£5.00 supplement), when i asked what the special was she could not remember saying 'it is scallops and black pudding with something else'...I ordered the Brill with crayfish risotto and my friend the slow cooked beef.
Starters were fine but the main course was not. The brill was overcooked but it was the lemon sauce that accompanied it that was the main problem...it was bright yellow and tasted like lemon curd...I could not eat it. The coffee arrived with 'petit four' which was just two large almond biscuits, not quite the petit four I have had in other restaurants.
One of the attractions to this restaurant was the fact you could book your table for the evening. This is about to change. We were informed that the restaurant will be changing to a two sitting per night soon. So to conclude, I was disappointed with the food and the service, Would I go back?..I may give it a second chance as I feel it is still finding its place in the restaurant scene...but will leave it for a few months.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Primrose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corin on Mainstreet also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing