We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprise find”
Review of The Courtyard

The Courtyard
Ranked #78 of 161 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
donaghadee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a surprise find”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely wee cafe in Bangor - hidden up a wee stairway off the main street. Very friendly staff - moved us to the window seat and offered coffee refills. I havent had lunch but the scones and traybakes were great and delicious coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenavo_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    21
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This is a place that does not serve hot food when the Chef has a day's leave.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This place has potential, but will it last in this town with lots of competition when there is no Assistant Chef to stand in when the Chef is on leave.

They 'seem to have taken over' the old phone shop next door to expand their business, but refurbishment seems to be at a standstill.

They could do with some advice in the hospitality industry if they wish their business to succeed.

I would not recommend this cafe until they learn to cater for their customers - if they continue to have any.

As I say the potential is there, but you MUST look after your customers.

Helpful?
3 Thank sugared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

First visit today for a quick bite. Only eight tables but one was free when I arrived at 1.45pm. Ordered french toast with bacon which was delicious. I was brought cutlery in a napkin and asked if I would like tea or coffee while I was waiting as there were quite a few orders in front of mine. I declined but after 30mins. I ordered coffee. I enquired if it was normal to have to wait this length of time for food and was told that one of the chefs had gone off early....this is Saturday, the place was very busy and turning people away.

What a surprise when I paid my bill - was charged for the coffee. Lots of other coffee shops to visit next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OAP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This place serves the best coffee in Bangor.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

If you would like a really nice cup of coffee, this is the place to go.

They even play Mozart's music (piano concerto No 21), The Elvira Madigan theme.

Although the café is situated up a steep flight of stairs, I note they are renovating the old phone shop next door as an addition to the cafe. This will be suitable for people with mobility problems.

I would recommend the Courtyard as a nice relaxing place for a coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very nice service with coffee refills. I had a lovely eggs benedict. It was fabulous. My wife had french toast with maple syrup and she was very pleased. Gallery surroundings. Nice decor. Recommended for a light lunch.

Helpful?
Thank smarti
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard also viewed

Bangor, County Down
 

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing