We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef pie!”
Review of Funky Penguin

Funky Penguin
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beef pie!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Called in here on Saturday after reading TripAdvisor reviews. Was a bit worried at first as we were the only customers, but it didn't take long for it to fill up.

The special was a beef and Guinness pie and was one of the most superb pies I've ever tasted - absolutely stuffed full of melt-in-the-mouth beef and with an amazing flavour.

Service was also excellent.

The Funky Penguin isn't posh (and is in the most unexpected location for decent food in Bangor), but it's very, very good. If their Ulster Fry is as good as the beef pie, we'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DarrenNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Best meal I've had in Bangor
I would come back all the time and everytime I enjoy my self this is a brilliant place to relax and have some good food !

Helpful?
3 Thank Dillonb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great place to relax with lovely food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Called into the Funky Penguin today
It is very popular because the food is excellent and freshly cooked. Everyone here is very friendly and they will cook food to your special requirements. There is a good variety to suit everyone on the menu. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
3 Thank sugared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beats Heatherlea as the best Ulster Fry!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Whenever we visit Bangor we try to fit in at least one Ulster Fry. Normally we go to Heatherlea but this year we spotted that the Funky Penguin had good reviews on Trip Advisor - and at £8 for two Fries including coffee they were substantially cheaper, so we gave it a go.

We weren't disappointed, the food was good and fresh and hot, the coffee really good and served in a mug not just a cup - and with free refills! Also as it's a smaller operation than Heatherlea the service is able to be a lot more friendly.

We enjoyed it so much that we managed to squeeze in a return visit a couple of weeks later - and were recognised and greeted like friends.

As someone else has said, this is how it should be done! Very impressive - we'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rogzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This little eatery is tucked away but once found offers friendly and prompt servive. All the produce is ccoked/made on the premises. There's a tasty and varied menu with all the main courses costing not much over a fiver.(or less) ! Portions sizes are excellent and the food tastes gorgeous. They also have a selection of deserts on offer- all cooked on the premises.
If you fancy a really tasty bite to eat in Bangor that won't cost the earth then look no further than the Funky Penguin - it ticks all the boxes. Once you've been there you will be looking for an excuse to go back.
Well worth a try!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funky Penguin also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Funky Penguin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing