We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact and Bijou!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard cottage

View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Picture showing how the other cottage adjoins. Orchard cottage has a private balcony and privacy Orchard Cottage entrance by lower floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Picture showing how the other cottage adjoins. Orchard cottage has a private balcony and privacy
Orchard Cottage entrance by lower floor
Sliding gate will open automatically on final approach
Stone at the entrance to the wee clachan
A stone with the other cottages painted on it.
One side with gravel inclining path onto the balcony
King size bed with exposed stone wall
Bedroom has underfloor heating as well as electric wall heaters
Living Room with patio doors to balcony
View from the balcony
Bedroom window of the barn conversion
Bathroom
view to orchard.garage beside
Balcony. Adjacent garage building
View from balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

H9618CIhe...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Compact and Bijou!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very quaint and charming!
A bit hard to find at first but once we got there we loved it! Very well finished with everything you could need! Beautiful views of the countryside.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you Heather. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I noticed in the visitors book you said you woukd return so I hope to meet you next time!
Karon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pronky
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A unique property,very tranquil and rural.”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a very peaceful three days here.Karon and Malcom the owners were extra kind and the cottage has been very cleverly built into the rocky ground with the upstairs terrace overlooking beautiful fields home to herds of contented cattle.
The only very minor criticism we had was that we found it a bit hard to find the cottage at first.
I have been self catering for many years and have never found a cleaner place nor such a well fitted out kitchen.
We would love to come back!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to move on.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVONSHIR...
Plympton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A quiet and peaceful haven”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Orchard Cottage,whilst attending a Christmas wedding in nearby Newtownards.Arriving in the dark from Belfast ferry port,we were greeted with warmth by Karon and Malcolm.A compact cottage with all the amenities we needed for our stay, in fact a home from home .A decorated Christmas tree in the window was a lovely touch, as was the Christmas gifts from the owners.What a wonderful comfortable bed.Great views of the surrounding countryside can be had from the balcony ,unfortunately the weather wasn't conducive to sit outside. Would love to come back one day and stay a different time of the year.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the area and the non intrusiveness of the owner.
Liked least: The lanes to get to the cottage,difficult to find with no signs up,also Sat Nav was useless.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XsuzyX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Can not recommend this place enough. It's peaceful and scenic, the owners are friendly and extremely helpful! We didn't want to go home! Thank you both once again, truly a wonderful weekend break.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollos
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Supurb getaway, perfect for bringing your dog”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

It's very hard to find accommodation in Ireland that is Pet Friendly. When I found the "Orchard Cottage" online I hope all the positive reviews I had read were true. They were.

Karon and Malcom are excellent hosts and very nice people. You get the feeling they would cater any request you might have. so top marks there.

The cottage itself has been renovated to a very high standard. Very comfortable and equipped with every convenience required as a home away from home.

All in all an enjoyable stay and a truly unrestricted pet friendly rental that I shall visit again.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts and the Cottage itself
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vi010116
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I rented this cottage as a hideaway for my newly-wed son and daughter-in-law to stay in before flying off on their honeymoon. It was perfect for that purpose.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic unique peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Once found you won't want to leave. We spent 3 wonderful weeks staying in Orchard Cottage and enjoyed every minute, so peaceful and so quiet. Karon and Malcolm were just terrific helping us any way they could as our trip was a very sad time coming back to be with a very sick friend. Orchard Cottage is a fantastic unique place to stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone, we will certainly be back.

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Hi David
Thank you so much. You were perfect house guests and we were sad to see you leave. Would love to see you back and I hope the rest of your trip went smoothly at such a sad time for you.
Hope your back has improved

Kind regards
Karon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.