We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good indian nosh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganges - CLOSED

Ganges
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
bangor co down
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good indian nosh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

ganges is a fairly standard indian restaurant, but we like it as the food is consistently good, the staff very attentive and food can be made hotter if you like and not a problem to the chef. It's a little bit dated in surroundings, but i like the 'quaintness' of that

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good British style Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Had a meal for two here on Saturday night the food is delicious and there is an extensive menu which is reasonable on price. The wine list is short but adequate. In my humble opinion this is the British version of Indian food that said it is very tasty but some dishes can be a little stogey. I've eaten here several times and will do so again. If you dont like heavy / stogey food don't go for things that have creamy in the discription. Service is good and with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The Ganges is a great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I cant remember how long we have been eating in the Ganges, we even used to get Christmas cards from Rab the owner. The food is always top notch and plenty of it, no problem recommending this place for food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Ok so the restaurant is tatty and needs to be updated but the food is still probably one of the best indians around with good service. Don't go here if you are looking for ambience but do if just good indian food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee,scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Really good food, nice friendly staff, a real hidden gem.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank steviebaby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ganges also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing