We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality food at excellent prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutton Hall

Sutton Hall
Ranked #8 of 204 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top quality food at excellent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Sutton Hall was recommended to us by a friend from that area who now lives in our county so we visited as promised.
Despite being extremely busy (and this was profusely apologised for and warned about in advance) the young staff remained courteous and helpful.
All three courses were beautifully presented and extremely tasty but the biggest surprise was the bill.
For food of this quality, we expected it to be expensive so when the bill arrived at approximately half of what we expected, it rounded the evening off a treat. We even went through it to check we hadn't been undercharged.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    222
    132
    66
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited Sutton Hall many times over the last few years For birthdays Christmas meals and as a couple for a relaxing afternoon It's absolutely stunning. This visit the sun was shining so we sat outside in the lovely garden enjoying the afternoon. I'm sorry on this occasion to only give 3 Stars Please pull your socks up. service was slow with some staff looking lost. Learn your table numbers to avoid walking around asking Is this your meal! I hope never to take Sutton Hall off my favourites list but you need to take a grip....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oatcake2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food in stylish and friendly Environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A group of twelve meeting up after long absence,two American,so the careful restoration into a drinking and eating place was much admired.The surrounding,inside and out,terraces and gardens outside,and old-world interior very relaxing and stylish.The place operates as a pub(with very good traditional ales and beers, and a friendly'local' atmosphere.PS you can take your dog!) but also with a (slightly)more formal dining area.The young staff are very efficient and pleasant,so service is good.
A good comprehensive menu is offered to suit all tastes(and pockets)of good quality from pub-style(fish and chips,fish pie,sausage and mash etc) up to more elaborate dishes.As a group of ten we had a selection of starters to share,very good scollops,mushrooms,variety of pate and meats etc.
Mains of reasonable size varied from veggie Thai curry.to fish and steaks;all good.
the place is of good size;it is an ex-manor house!,so tables well spaced and roomy,and no rush to see us on our way.
Very enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poiriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here last Sunday and my fella had the roast beef which was simply to die for. Copious amounts of meat and the Yorkshire pudding was gorgeous. I have a recent intoleance to dairy and the waitress was so accomodating in going through the menu, speaking to the kitchen and getting an option for me. I ended up with the butternut and roasted red pepper felafels with salad and they were lovely, only for a main meal you get three tiny balls, which I thought was a little dear at £9.75, I couldnt have the yoghurt based dip and it wasnt substitued. but thats just my opinion.
Great service, fab setting. Will definitely come again.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not sure the wait was that worth it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not sure the wait was worth it to be honest. I felt the portions were smaller and the prices had increased since our last visit in March. We put our orders in around 1 o'clock and it was not much before ten to two that we were served. Although the food was excellent as usual, no complaints there just that the portions were disappointing.... we had all finished our meals and had to chase a waiter to take our orders for deserts.

I hope this otherwise great venue is not on the decline perhaps it was just a one off! I'll be back in October ... time enough for improvement... could do better

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutton Hall also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Sutton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing