We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, abused, pathetic”

Chadwick House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chadwick House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Macclesfield
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible, abused, pathetic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hi stayed at this for a few nights
Rooms,- the smallest possible, some peoole may even not fit in them.
Bathrooms - vv small and bad fittings.
Attitude of the owner - This is the biggest issue, the guy is v rude he will pass on rude comments if you are an indian.
Breakfast - very minimal options and even if you ask anything different you would be refused.

I strongly reccommend not to make the mistake me and many of my colleagues did by staying here for all if you believe in general respect and humanity.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Puneet1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
7
23
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I reserved 3 rooms for my family. We had been invited to a wedding that started at 2pm. I emailed and asked could we have 1 room from 11or 12 to enable us to get ready. I received a reply saying yes and that we would have to pay an extra £10. I also asked for 1of the breakfast could be glutenfree. When we arrived the hotel was empty. My husband rang and the lady owner said that she was shopping and had no knowledge of our request. She came back and made us feel very uncomfortable and that we were out of order arriving so early. After we had negotiated the very steep steps to enter the property we were shown to our rooms. They were very basic don't think I've ever stayed in one as poor. My husband requested an extra pillow as he has a neck problem. This never appeared neither did my glutenfree breakfast. They blamed booking.com for problems and proceeded to moan about what percentage they took and then tax deduction. Just what we wanted on a Sunday morning a couple of moaning minnies. My advice book elsewhere. My advice to owners retire to your house in Dubai and play golf you're obviously not suited to running a B&B. Learn some people skills Janet Grundy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janetgWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Macclesfield hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
460 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The name is very grand but it's a B&B, and a very decent one at that - nothing fancy, clean and cosy with very friendly and helpful proprietors. Stairs are steep so not really for anyone with mobility problems although there are ground floor rooms. I had an en suite attic room with a cosy single bed. The only problem was the shower where the water flow was ok but not terribly enthusiastic and, to be honest, the shower-mould was a bit obvious- it's not too difficult to get rid of so why not clean it up.

Car park is small so check that there is space before you arrive.

I'd certainly stay again,

Breakfast was a decent selection of the usual cereals and a piping hot 'fry. The owners have Ulster roots so the Ulster Fry breakfast score of 7/10 was to be expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UlsterFryNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We discovered this lovely B & B while travelling through U.K, well located, minutes walk to village centre, very clean and comfortable rooms, close to transport and Manchester by train.
The owners made us very welcome and the breakfast was everything you could wish for, highly recommend, value for money here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Spent one night at Chadwick House Hotel. Whilst the hotel is somewhat dated it is clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and the service was excellent.

The price charged is very reasonable and competes well with budget chain hotels as Chadwick goes the extra mile.

Would I stay here again, probably yes when next in Macclesfield on business.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

One night stopover with my friend as we were going out in town. The room was basic with a small toilet/shower, tea and coffee making facilities and a small TV. The place was clean with decent service, and close to town. The breakfast was nice and cooked to order. Overall it did the job for a decent price and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stopped here after our wedding reception at the nearby Tytherington club.
Needless to say we didn't really spend much time in the room as we didn't get in til gone midnight.
I had a good nights sleep and really enjoyed the full english breakfast as I had certainly worked up an appetite ;-).
The owners were really friendly and attentive and the whole place seemed to be clean and tidy.
I understand there is limited parking here but that wasn't an issue for us as we had lifts to and from the hotel. I would recommend this place for anyone having a night out in Macc as it's fairly close to the town centre and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
2.2 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
3.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
5.0 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chadwick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chadwick House Hotel

Property: Chadwick House Hotel
Address: 55 Beech Lane, Macclesfield SK10 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chadwick House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chadwick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chadwick Hotel Macclesfield
Chadwick House Hotel Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing