We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepy, classy splendour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capesthorne Hall

Capesthorne Hall
Manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sleepy, classy splendour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Visited Capesthorne Hall during the Great British Food and Drink Festival event for the first time. Whilst the festival was enjoyable, the Hall and gardens stole the show with the immaculate gardens, lovely forest walks, quirky Victorian effects hiding around the garden and in the lake. It was fantastic to be able to learn more about the Davenport family, emphusiastic and knowledgeable staff in the house made the indoor experience so much better. We ended up returning the next day again and had a picnic on the lawn next to the lake - stayed the whole day. The hall, the little chapel, the immaculately manicured lawns and shrubs and the added fabulous weather made it one of the best days out. Will definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    15
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Capesthorne caravan site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Another excellent weekend at this hidden gem of a caravan site - virtually had the place to ourselves.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hadyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Lovely impressive house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Home to the Bromley Davenports since 1726 this house is huge and very impressive. You only see a small portion of the house because I assume they still live here but what you see is beautiful. We had free entry as members of the Historic Houses Association and had a great visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I visited Capesthorne with my young grandson and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. We were there on a Monday, so paid only £4.50 for the car which gave us access to the grounds, chapel and tearoom and then an extra £2 to visit the house. I thought this was very good value, compared to the prices one pays elsewhere. We arrived just after noon and the house doesn't open until 1.30pm but we had brought a picnic and had a walk down to the lake. The gardens looked lovely and very well-kept.

The guides in the house were very pleasant, asking my grandson his name and pointing out things which might be of particular interest to a child. There aren't a great many rooms open, considering the size of the house, but we especially liked the child's room and the box room!

We went into the tearoom for an ice cream; the choice of sandwiches and cakes seemed rather limited but everything looked fresh and the seating area was very clean and comfortable.

All-in-all, a very pleasant afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireLilyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not enough to see.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We paid £7.50 each to view the hall and garden's but I was disappointed by the amount of rooms that were open for viewing. Also the guide books on offer for sale were not very impressive.

Also, I was surprised that the taking of photographs were not allowed inside the house even though it is used as a wedding venue, so if you want to take your own images for recommendation on where to hold a family wedding then you will be refused.

We sampled an afternoon tea and the lemon drizzle cake was delicious.

The garden's were the best value in this visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindiManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capesthorne Hall also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Capesthorne Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing