We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roast dinner, excellent roast beef and Yorkshire pudding to die for!”
Review of The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head
Ranked #46 of 207 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Local pub offering Tapas specials along with grill menu.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Roast dinner, excellent roast beef and Yorkshire pudding to die for!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Been here before and had good tapas. Called for a Sunday Lunch yesterday and had roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, good fresh veg to. Beef tasty and tender, good peppery gravy. All in all excellent traditional lunch at a good price, very friendly casual atmosphere. Sunday papers all you need for a chilled lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinWil202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WILL NEVER RETURN!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was looking forward to a lovely family meal after reading the rave reviews I booked in advance. Service to start was extremely poor, waited ages for order to be taken (although there were lots of empty tables), then the food was sparodically given to us, without so much a word of what each one was from the waitress! Definitely agree with one other review that the potatoes were from frozen with a jar of tomato sauce poured on top! Limited choice of drinks from the bar. All in all a pretty expensive and awful trip. Have decided that other local businesses do much better food and service! Will not be returning in the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MicbriSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been here before so I know about the high standard of tapas offered so we reserved The Bulls Head for a birthday party and we were not disappointed. The food and service for the 16 of us was excellent. The room had been laid out especially for us and nothing was too much trouble for the young manager and his team.
As a regular visitor to Spain I am often disappointed by 'our' attempts at tapas. Not here. I understand some of the ingredients are sourced direct from Spain and it adds to the standard of the tapas.
Whilst there a couple of 'walk-ins' were left disappointed as they were fully booked so I would suggest to book in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redjonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our anniversary lunch was very memorable. Not being too busy, which is not usual, Will (the chef) had said we might choose something special (in advance). We requested lobster but when it arrived as lobster thermidore with crevettes, tiger prawns and crusty bread it was to die for. Our local pub, with excellent staff only two minutes walk away from our house in a very pretty semi-rural village....what more could you ask for?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic tapas and lovely pub!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

After moving recently to the area, we have visited on around 5 occasions and on every trip it has been consistently superb! The spanish tapas menu is not only extremely tasty with a great selection to choose from, but the portions sizes are more than enough! The pub itself is in a lovely rural setting with a traditional pub feel, it's also has the added benefit of a great beer garden with fantastic views! The staff on every occasion have been attentive and chatty, especially the manager who remembered us from our first visit - even the pub dog is a friendly little thing! Overall a fantastic spanish tapas with the added benefit of traditional pub setting! Highly reccomended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulls Head also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Bollington, Cheshire
Bosley, Macclesfield
 

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing