We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but too small for more than a few nights”
Review of Moorhayes House

Moorhayes House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorhayes House
Ranked #16 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Moorhayes was a good location for my entire family of 16 to stay while in the area for a family party. It was one of only a few places with enough rooms to accomodate all of us. It was fine for the 2 nights we were there, but would not recommend it as a base camp for a longer stay. The house is clean, the food was good and Helen was very helpful and kind, but the rooms are small and there is no common sitting area to gather. the decor is rather institutional. Our pet was welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L0vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenMacclesfield, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2008

Please note, anyone reading this review, that we do NOT accept pets. My husband is allergic to both dogs and cats. On this occasion, the guests turned up at the door with their dog, not having asked in advance. As my husband was away, I allowed the dog in rather than make it sleep in the car, but this will not be repeated.
As the guest mentioned in the review, we do not have a "guest lounge", although we have a porch with five comfortable chairs for the use of guests. On this occasion, the porch was obviously not large enough for sixteen people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Moorhayes House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2007

What a horrid place. I first was put in a room so small and dreary I just could not stay in. I told the lady to move me or i was taking my group and we were moved.
She had put us downstairs in the worst rooms she had. We were the only guests.
Up stairs where she moved me to was much fresher and nicer.
However the bath was so small you could not close the door and take a shower as when you got in or out you had to step in from the bedroom. it was not 2ft by 5ft and included shower and toilet.
The sink was in the bedroom.

I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank certifiedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenMacclesfield, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2008

I accept constructive criticism, but I remember this woman well. She was the most difficult guest we have ever had, finding fault from the moment she entered our home. She was placed in the single room because she had insisted in advance that she wanted the cheapest room (we only have one single). When she complained, she was upgraded at no extra cost although this meant that the double room was then no longer available for latecomers. She seemed to expect to be placed in our best room on the cheapest rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cincinnati, OH
16
Reviewed 27 September 2004

Stayed four nights in a wonderful B&B. The owners could not have been more helpful with our visit from the States. The room was clean and good sized with clean bath ensuite. The owner supplied maps and directions and even drove us arround some to show us how to get arround town. The breakfast was excellent and the service was great. I can't thank them enough for how we were treated, it helped to make our stay in Macclesfield one of the best parts of our trip.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenMacclesfield, Owner at Moorhayes House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2008

Thank you for your review. We do try to "go the extra mile" for our guests, helping them in any way we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
1.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick House Hotel
Chadwick House Hotel
#8 of 8 in Macclesfield
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
1.8 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
213 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhayes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhayes House

Address: 27 Manchester Road, Macclesfield SK10 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range: £35 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhayes House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly welcome at non-smoking guest house just north of Macclesfield in Tytherington. Ample car parking. Free wifi. All rooms with small en-suite shower rooms, TV, tea/coffee facilities etc. Hearty full English breakfasts or lighter alternatives. One single room, four doubles, two twin rooms and one family room (double and single bed). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorhayes House Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing