We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Marvellous example of a country house

Visited this place yesterday whilst there was a Bazaar on. It was a beautiful sunny day which was... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2018
Jaygee02
,
Salford, United Kingdom
one of the best cheshire

Certainly in the top ten of all stately halls in cheshire , very reasonable entry costs less than... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2018
Peter e
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
50
14
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
14
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunting lodge formal gardens guided tour cake victoria sponge tea room tudor building yew maze wedding venue open to the public may bank holiday drinks reception family home food was lovely entry fee couple of hours scones
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Visited this place yesterday whilst there was a Bazaar on. It was a beautiful sunny day which was a bonus. The stalls were a bit sparse but the ones there were quite good. There was plenty of artisan food stations, At the back of the hall there are tea rooms but we did not use the facilities. The gardens were spectacular including a maze and various other specially designed areas. The hall was open too at a reduced rate but again I did not go around the house. For an entry fee of £2 you could'nt go wrong.

1  Thank Jaygee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Certainly in the top ten of all stately halls in cheshire , very reasonable entry costs less than £10 for gardens and house itself.
These days the house pays for its keep by being a wedding venue and a superb one it is too.
Lots of photo opportunities in the gardens .
Small but lovely cafe (pic included).Cafe is pricy but its nice stuff .
Quite why this place is never mentioned by anyone i dont understand , its never publicly advertised and opens at funny times so that might put people off
Tour of the house is first class , looked like family might have been practicing catholics to me so they prob kept themselve to themselves.
Would have no problem recomending to anyone

Thank Peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We held our wedding here on 23rd June and honestly couldn’t have wished for a more perfect day! Lisa was our wedding coordinator and ensured that from the planning stage right up to the big day everything ran really smoothly. We had so many comments saying that it was the best wedding that many of our guests had ever attended! The great hall was spectacular and the hunting lodge was the perfect size for our 90 guests and Lisa ensured that everything was set up exactly how we wanted. We just want to thank Lisa and Sarah who took over in the evening for ensuring that our big day was absolutely perfect. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend your venue and services in the future

Thank S2081WKemilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We were advised to go and look around Adlington after visiting so many wedding venues in the North West. From the first moment we were all blown away by the place. Its unique and stunningly beautiful, with lots of character unlike some of the more corporate wedding venues and barns we visited. From day 1, Lisa and her colleagues were on hand to make sure that everything ran smoothly and Barratts caterers were brilliant.
We are still on a high from the wedding only 3 days ago. The day was perfect, the location stunning, the food delicious and the organisation impeccible. We have received so many compliments and a number of people have said its the best wedding they've ever been to. We can't thank the staff at Adlington enough for making my daughter's and her now husband's day perfect in every way. We got everything all of us had dreamed of and more!!

Thank Peachy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Adlington Hall & gardens is only open on Spring & Summer Sundays plus the May & August Bank Holidays and, as a number of families found to our dismay, does not actually open until 2pm in the afternoon. Although we had our picnic to occupy our time until opening time on a beautifully warm May Bank Holiday afternoon, many other potential visitors took one look at the closed gates which had a sign saying "open on Sundays 2 - 5pm" and promptly went on their way elsewhere. (House owners please note.)

The house tour is very good (if a little too drawn out for younger guests) and the grounds are contain a pleasant mix of semi formal and informal areas. The yew maze would prove a hit for children and the bluebells are well worth seeing in the informal woodland area but take care with the soggy & unclear paths in places.

The Tudor cafe is based in an atmospheric old part of the hall but the 2 staff are young and do struggle to cope with sudden in-fluxes of customers at the end of each hall tour. No prices are displayed which usually can only mean bad news. I ordered some Victoria sponge & St Clements cake and, as there appeared only to be one piece of Victoria sponge left under the cake dome I asked if any more was available and was told "No". You can imagine our shock then to be served pieces of cake which were only half the size you would expect to get in most cafes worthy of the name. I'm afraid that my wife sent hers back for a refund when I told her that each slice was £3.50! I'm afraid to report also that the cream scone I had was small, hard & semi-stale and served with a begrudgingly small amount of strawberry jam - and with no butter..

Had we not visited the cafe I would have given our visit at least 4 stars but the profusion of similar tales from other cafe reviewers would suggest that the proprietors of the cafe are not heeding the feedback they are receiving. A great shame for a visitor attraction which does deserve to become a much more popular & successful attraction than it is currently.

1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We live down the road and have many times passed the Hall and meant to visit! Glad we visited this little gem as it really is hidden away. Lovely hall and gardens to have a wander. The entry price of £6 per adult to get in (see gardens) and £9 for the house and gardens (£5 per child) makes it a fair cost. We stopped and had tea in the Tea Rooms and I would agree with other reviewers the cakes were over priced (small slices). The place was very quiet considering how lovely it but that suited us fine as it meant it gave a personal feel as we walked round. Would recommend for a couple of hours day out. A suggestion we do have is maybe having a play area (to the side so not spoil the ambience) for young children as that would make it more enjoyable when visiting as a family. Husband and I would happily return but kids maybe not so.

Thank Amandaswale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Adlington Hall is only open to the public on Summer Sundays and this is the first time we've been in the right place at the right time to see inside.

It really is quirkily beautiful, and very interesting architecturally - the Tudor building still very much in evidence, with a Georgian addition tacked on the side. The garden is lovely for a wander too. I can see why it's popular for weddings!

We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the leisurely tour, even if our guide didn't actually know much about the house or indeed history generally...

Our visit to the tearoom was slightly surreal with not much on offer apart from a few odd slices of cake and a solitary slightly stale scone carefully positioned under a glass dome, but service with a smile meant we enjoyed it nonetheless.

The lived-in feeling of a much loved family home makes the hall have a special atmosphere which larger and grander properties often lack, and this is what will make us visit again. It was all endearingly amateur. In fact, I'd rather like to move in...

Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful Elizabethian Hall for the ceremony and lovely courtyard for drinks reception. The grounds were lovely and the hunting lodge for the reception was a great room with a separate bar area. The sun shone was a perfect day

Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We were lucky enough to visit the gardens out of season as part of the Cheshire Residents Festival. Whilst very lttle flowering, it was a delight to wander round the maze and the grounds and the vast woodland walk with beautiful vistas. We were here around an hour and a half taking it all in.

Will definitely have to revisit when more is in flower (looks to be super laburnam arch and native bluebells and rhodos in the woodland). Also the house looks worth a tour inside with its tudor facade.

Also our pooch enjoyed the walk too!

1  Thank MrandMrsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

woz\ gud jhewffewqbnweqfb iuqfvwuiewfq recommend to the hudb yeah hdwqi joiedbi jhbuilfewq jhb jh fewjb h hj bhjfe erw bkfdwsjh bnkjbe dfbk

Thank vinniejones12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews