We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I'd taken more notice of TripAdvisor”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macclesfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penrose Guest House
Ranked #17 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wished I'd taken more notice of TripAdvisor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is an ok B&B but if you book do ensure that you have documented evidence of your booking as you will have to provide your bank card details. I stayed here while looking for a room to rent in Macclesfield. At the start of my second week I enquired about availability for the following week however the next day found a room so didn't need to make a booking. I left a voicemail and sent an email to say thanks for my stay and that I wouldn't be looking to stay any longer as I had found a room but received no reply. The following week I was charged for a week's booking that I hadn't made. I questioned this with the owner and she basically said tough and that I had made a booking. This resulted in me having to cancel my card as I didn't know what else might be taken out.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireWatchdog, Guest Relations Manager at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Toby - We were delighted that you were so happy here that - after initially booking in for just four days - you then stayed for a further three weeks. And, we so enjoyed all of the little chats we had.

You know we did explain our cancellation policy to you when you made your initial reservation. And we reminded you that it – and our ‘terms and conditions’ are writ clear on our website.

You comments on Trip Advisor are not only very naughty but also untrue. You had booked in for a fourth week commencing Monday 14th March when on Sunday 13th March you advised us by email that you had got immediate possession of a flat - and would no longer require the room. That email is on record and gave less than 24 hours notice of cancellation.

You know from your time here that we are usually fully booked all week. In reserving the room for you we had turned away other business.

So it is very sad that you demanded a refund and feel aggrieved that we, your bankers and credit card company have all conspired against you. Particularly so when you had told us how much you enjoyed being at Penrose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Booked three nights got taken vary ill had to cancel, gave three days notice lady vary rude on phone said if she couldnt fill room would charge me £90 but wouldnt do anything stright away that was at 5.20 at 5.30 I rang my bank and bang on 5.30 she had put my card number through be warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank mingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireWatchdog, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
On 25th Oct 2010 Alison Barrington alias Mingcat - reserved a room for 3 days from 27th. She was told about our cancellation policy which is printed on our website. She agreed to our terms and conditions, authorised us to charge her MasterCard and gave us her credit details so that we could do this - and her mobile phone number. Her card was charged on 25th Oct at 18:49 – verified by the printed record and authorisation from our Merchant Services.

She phoned to cancel mid afternoon on 27th Oct, a couple of hours before she had arranged to book in. She demanded a total refund and became very aggressive when we told her we could not agree to that unless and until we were able to re-let the room.

There was no activity on her card by us on any day at or around 5.20 to 5.30 pm. This review is malicious fiction from beginning to end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Macclesfield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
3.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chadwick House Hotel
Chadwick House Hotel
#8 of 8 in Macclesfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Guest House

Property: Penrose Guest House
Address: 56 Birtles Road | Whirley, Macclesfield SK10 3JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Always a warm welcome to greet you at this popular, cheerful, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable B&B. WIFI throughout.Refurbished 1930s detached house with unusually spacious designer bedrooms, offering the luxury of hypo-allergenic mattresses, duvets and pillows dressed in Egyptian Cotton, upholstered arm chair and multi channel TV+DVD. Generous courtesy tray, a range of toiletries and soft towels. Thermostatic controls on radiators ensure your comfort. Close to motorway network, intercity trains and Manchester international airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penrose Guest House Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing