We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful discovery”
Review of The Ryles Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ryles Arms
Ranked #4 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful discovery”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Discovering the Ryles Arms was entirely by chance. I had wanted to stay at another B&B, but they didn't respond to my request. Just as well, I was thrilled with The Ryles. They were fast in responding to my request and were easy to deal with.

I booked in for 4 days, and what a great surprise it was. The location in Higher Sutton is gorgeous, Cheshire countryside is idyllic. The converted barn room that I had was immaculate, with lovely decor. My favourite part was looking out the window into the fields, hearing the birds.. It was lovely. It was worth every penny.

The manager/owner is very efficient..seemed like he was a bit behind the eight ball at times and in need of more employees. Regardless, he was great and the staff that I dealt with were excellent, friendly and fun to deal with.

Foodwise, it was great. I can't eat a lot of heavy food, and this menu is primarily that. Major meat dishes - food that I used to love..! I found my way around it, as I have to do, and was entirely satisfied with the large menu. The Inn restaurant is very popular for locals..and it really hops on the weekend. The breakfast is really good. They'll certainly take care of whatever you want.

If you require wifi, they do have it but it is a rather hit or miss affair. Hopefully they'll attempt to upgrade it, as it can be a tad frustrating if you need to be in the loop.
I also wanted to make some long-distance calls - but they didn't have the facilities for that I was told...? There were phones in the room but....? So, I left that alone and had a very quiet four days of not talking to anyone but the staff. Kind of wonderful really.

If you're looking for a quiet, romantic getaway or just a tiny break - this is the place. There are trails nearby for a wonderful wander, good food and... silence.. lovely countryside... with your neighbours being sheep and cows. This place was an unexpected and lovely discovery.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    53
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
53
77
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Last night we went to the Ryles Arms on a whim for diner and thoroughly enjoyed the food which was well presented and tasted great. The exception was the vegetables which were basic and a little tasteless. A shame since the rest was excellent and the service was very friendly and polite. Overall a very good experience and a very reasonable price for starters and main course for 2 with a bottle of good wine. Just over £50!!! Not sure about the décor or what it was trying to be but this is a minor point and took nothing away from the enjoyment of the evening.

Well done to the owners and the chef. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonnanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I only stayed at the Ryles Arms for one night, but enjoyed an outstanding English breakfast, comfortable accommodation (perfect pillow) and a mouth-wateringly exellent aged steak!!!

The staff were so very friendly and helpful and the views and surrounding countryside just breathtaking.

I will certainly stay at the Ryles again on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I stayed at the Ryles Arms for only 1 night but it was a pleasant stay. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. The food is fantastic. And you can start walking into the hills from just outside the pub.

It's definitely a nice location and offers great service. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeetsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Me and my girlfriend went on the 17th Feb 2010 and it was very nice. We got there and the staff were very polite and professional. They showed us to our room and it was part of a converted barn seperate from the pub itself which was very nice. I feel that the rooms could have been decorated more tastefully as they look a bit like a travel inn. We had tea at the pub and it was excellent and so was the price. Can I recommend the black pudding starter to everyone, the BEST starter I have ever had..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This was a party to celebrate the passing of a very popular local resident. Despite the sudden appearance of around forty plus guests to add to the already busy service (Good Parking) everything was smoothly, courteously and efficiently handled.
Coats were taken and a wonderful young lady was on hand immediately to provide tea and coffee and answer the many questions asked. It was forty years ago since I last visted this hostelry then I was a local regular. The change is definitely for the better. Thanks to all who made our afternoon so very pleasant. The food was excellent and ample.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacclesfieldGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We enjoyed excellent food on the Friday from a wide selection of choices on the menu. The dining was relaxed. The service was efficient. We then stayed in the room and enjoyed the chocolates whilst wtaching TV. A beautiful view of countryside and cows from the window! A filling breakfast in the morning before we went on a short walk from th Ryles through the fields and along the bridlepath. An excellent mini break. Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKCCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
5.3 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
304 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
8.0 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryles Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryles Arms

Property: The Ryles Arms
Address: Hollin Lane | Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryles Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The real Taste of Cheshire” Set amidst the rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside. The start/finish of the Gritstone Trail, and other rambling routes. The Ryles Arms has long been established as a venue for home cooked food, that offers a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment. The Ryles Arms has free, secure car parking and the five bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, with much of the produce sourced from the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Ryles Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryles Arms Hotel Macclesfield
The Ryles Arms Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing